We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“close, beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden District

Garden District
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Historic Garden District Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 339 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An area of the city that features numerous historic homes.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“close, beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

really glad we made the trip here on our last day of our month-long USA holiday, even though we were tired. It's just to beautiful. We didn't make it to see any plantation homes so this area was a nice alternative to see some historical architectures and pretty homes.
We caught the tram from the city centre in the morning. Got off at about 4th street, Walked to the cemetery. Then just wandered up to Magazine street, had a bite to eat, then back down residential streets. I didn't find magazine street to be some amazing shopping area like I'd read but it was a nice day out none-the less. My husband was also really glad I dragged him away from the French quarter for the day. :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Del678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,817
    1,961
    339
    36
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belchertown, Ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Took a walking tour of the Garden District and loved seeing the houses and hearing about the history of the area. This is a must do, wear comfortable shoes and bring something cold to drink. Take lots of photos. You might even spot a celebrity or even a ghost.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I started doing a walking tour that I had downloaded on my own. We ended up running across another group who were doing a guided "free tour". The gal was fantastic that did the tour and was nice and let us join their group. It was informative and very fun! We tipped her well at the end since she did such a great job. I would strongly advise to take an organized tour --it is much more informative than just reading about the homes. The stories about them make it more enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Illinois2thdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a hotel in the area and we walked through the district, looking at the beautiful mansions. We ate on Magazine St. and toured the Cemetery, which was eye-opening. A must do!

Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and in need of some repair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This 150 year old district still retains some of the Louisiana charm it was known for. Greek Revival narrow, deep houses on the most prestigious street in the district, St. Charles. But the streets need major repairs, many of the houses should be renovated, and the trolly, while very convenient, still uses the old metal wheels which makes for a great deal of noise. Still, worth the walk if only to see the live oak trees.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden District also viewed

 

Been to Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing