We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis Cathedral

St. Louis Cathedral
Book In Advance
and up
The Drunken Telling of New Orleans Tales
Ranked #2 of 328 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The major landmark of the French Quarter is the oldest continuously active cathedral in the U.S.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
256 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We've been to New Orleans a number of times, but have never had a chance to make it into the Cathedral. It was absolutely breathtaking...reminded us of touring some of the great cathedrals of Europe. The attention to detail is just so wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Thank HouCuseChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Break from the streets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The church architecture, art work, and religious items are beautiful. Be sure to check times and know they don't always stick to them (closed 20 minutes early the day we were there).

Visited July 2013
Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful Landmark.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Definitely a must when in New Orleans. The cathedral is just beautiful. Even if you just go in for a quick look it will be worth it.

Visited January 2013
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Must-See Landmark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Cathedral-Basilica of Saint Louis King of France, better known as the St. Louis Cathedral in the French Quarter of New Orleans is a graceful vision from the exterior, but best viewed from the inside.

Built in 1727, the church has been a center of worship for over 280 years, with mass celebrations still celebrated daily. Entering the building, you can feel the spirituality that has taken residence in every crevice of the stunning architecture.

We enjoyed our reverent pause inside the St. Louis Cathedral. A lovely respite from the hot summer and the perfect place to reflect on the blessings of your journey.

I suggest picking up a self-guided tour (brochure,) available for a $1 donation in the entrance area. This will truly enhance your understanding of the splendors and history withing the cathedral. A schedule of mass times may be found inside the cathedral and there is a nice gift shop adjacent to the foyer area.

Visited July 2013
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
527 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped in the Cathedral in the late morning and checked at the small gift shop about tours. The clerk there said she thought the fellow would be in about 1:30, so we went on with our tour of the French Quarter and stopped back at 1:30. It was a few minutes before a fellow came walking up the aisle who didn't look like a tourist. He asked if we had any questions, so we asked about the tour. He said he would be happy to give us a tour. He asked if anyone else would care to join and a few did. As we went along he kept asking people if they would like to join and by the end we had a group of 15 or so. He was very well informed and gave us a lot of interesting information. The artwork in the building, especially the ceilings, is really lovely and makes you envision how difficult it would have been to paint it. While the tour was not long and certainly didn't cover all the items in the cathedral, it was worth taking the time to to it. Just walking in and looking around, you will not appreciate what is there and the stories that are part of the building's history.

Visited June 2013
Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cathedral also viewed


Been to St. Louis Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing