We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cathedral

St. Louis Cathedral
Book In Advance
$25.00*
and up
The Drunken Telling of Drunken New Orleans Tales
Ranked #2 of 320 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The major landmark of the French Quarter is the oldest continuously active cathedral in the U.S.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The St. Louis Cathedral is a beautiful cathedral and an icon of New Orleans. It is filled with New Orleans history and it was interesting to walk through. I am not personally Roman Catholic, but I enjoyed looking at the architecture and the stained glass windows representing the life of Saint Louis the King of France who was involved in the Crusades.
One of the employees/volunteers in the cathedral showed my children some of the tiles in the floor that had fossils in them. The children enjoyed that. Also when we walked in to the cathedral someone was play the pipe organ; it was beautiful.
If you visit New Orleans you need to make at least a brief visit to the Cathedral to enjoy the history and architecture.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerCentralFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,189
    1,158
    270
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you like visiting old churches this one should not be missed! The stained-glass windows are beautiful as well as the paintings on the ceilings.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TripSeekerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facade, Lackluster Interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The churches brilliant white facade highlights the exceptionally maintained Jackson Square. The church is beautiful around all four sides. However, the interior of the church appears to need some attention. Paint was pealing off the walls and columns and the transition from outside to inside was a bit shocking. If they took as good of care of the interior of this church as they do the exterior, this would be a sight to be seen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckner, Kentucky
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Even though I am not Catholic I enjoyed visiting the St. Louis Cathedral. The art work and statues are very colorful and masterfully done. I loved the respect that everyone showed while in the cathedral and that everyone is welcome. I brought a group of 15 teenagers and they had never seen anything like this coming for the Christian Church. Thank you for sharing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2DIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a great stop when downtown. If you are there on a Saturday it will be closed because there are always weddings there, but you might see the end of the wedding exiting the cathedral. A must-stop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DomoArrigato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing