We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it”
Review of Old Absinthe House

Old Absinthe House
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic building, which dates back to 1806, now houses a bar and two restaurants.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skip it”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Drinks are way too expensive and weak. The place looks like dump inside. Nothing special about it except that its in an old building...but all the building are old!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    79
    37
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go mixologists!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The ladies who tend bar at this establishment are artists. As you watch them mix drinks such as Sezarecs and Pimm's Cup, their artistry shines. Delicious fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFANursingSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abilene, tx
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It is what it is!!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Absinthe is one of my favorite drinks as I really like the licorice flavor. Yes, there is a ritual to this drink and how it was done in the day! If you are looking to experience that and think that the name of the place entitles you to that exact ritual then keep on walking.

The ritual goes like this: Sugar cube on the slotted spoon,cold water "dripped" over the ice cube, melting the sugar and causing the green liquor to louche into an opaque opalescent white. This is where the green fairy comes in to play as you see the green absinthe changing before your eyes and it's suppose to create what might appear to be a Fairy swirling around in your glass.

Do they do perform this exact ritual at this bar? No, they don't! Did it bother me that they didn't? No, it did not. I myself don't even go through the ritual when making a drink. I prefer making simple syrup and speeding up the process. This bartender poured the absinthe through the slotted spoon with the sugar cube and then set the sugar cube on fire. I asked her why and she said it melts the sugar faster. This is a NEW WAY of preparing this drink. Just like everything else in life people will find easier and faster ways of doing things. She has hers and I have mine. **Smiling** Neither of which are the way it was done in days of long ago.
The Pernod Absinthe was a pricey drink at 19.00 but when you look at how much a bottle of the Pernod is at the liquor store you understand why the price is high. I personally wanted to try this brand of absinthe before purchasing a whole bottle. After more research I found that it didn't get the best reviews and I ended up choosing a better brand that was sold around the corner and down the block from the Absinthe House.
In conclusion, if you want it prepared for you the old fashion way, then do not go here. But, if you want to see what Absinthe taste like and don't want to buy the WHOLE BOTTLE (it's expensive)......then try it here first to see if you even like it!! The bar itself was, to me, like any other bar along Bourbon Street. It doesn't cost anything to look around and if you don't like the atmosphere......Move on!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ausuml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a joke!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

They would like you to believe they are a genuine "absinthe house", but in reality nothing could be further from the truth.
First the selection and quality of the available absinthes was terrible at best. Anyone that truly knows absinthe is aware that the current run of Pernod is simply getting by on the name and is a poor imitation of the original. And La fee is an artificially colored cheap stand in for real absinthe!
Then watching the bar tender prepare it was a total joke! She poured a shot of Pernod into a high ball glass, placed the slotted spoon and sugar cube over it, and then soaked it in more absinthe and proceeded to light the cube. When I asked her not to "flame" the cube she informed me this was "the classic way to prepare absinthe".... Really?!? This lady obviously had no knowledge of the history of absinthe or the ritual used in preparing it properly. She then simply dumped water over it to extinguish the flames and top-off the glass. Someone needs to school her on the proper method to prepare this drink!
The atmoshere of the bar was underwhelming, the prices were extravagant, and the whole experience was abysmal as far as I was concerned!
Do yourself a favor and spend your money elsewhere!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank suprane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good bar for a nightcap”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place has more atmosphere than a lot of places on Bourbon st. It might have helped that it was two doors down from our hotel... Had several nightcaps in here and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sogormande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Absinthe House also viewed

 

Been to Old Absinthe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing