We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Education, fun and food”

New Orleans School of Cooking
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.67*
and up
New Orleans Culinary and Cocktail Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We teach the basics of Louisiana Cooking in a way you’ll never forget. Fun is a primary ingredient in our kitchen! Our Cajun / Creole experts teach New Orleans specialties such as Gumbo, Jambalaya and Pralines, seasoning them with history, trivia and tall tales! We offer demonstration classes and hands-on classes daily! DEMONSTRATION CLASS: Watch, learn & eat! Sit back and enjoy watching our skilled, entertaining chefs prepare a classic Cajun / Creole meal for you while learning about the vibrant history of New Orleans cuisine - enjoy all the demonstrated items, as well as local Abita beer with your meal! HANDS ON CLASS: Cook & eat an authentic Louisiana meal! In this highly interactive class, our guests prepare a complete dinner with one of our expert chefs, and afterwards they are able to sit down and enjoy the meal they have just created. Served with red & white wine.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Education, fun and food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great culinary storefront with a well equipped classroom in the back. The kitchen area had a mirror over the workstation which allowed us to see what our teacher, Pat, was doing. She was informal and very funny. Pat gave us a great history lesson on New Orleans' culinary culture as influenced by the various ethnicities that passed through the city over the centuries. She was thorough in her cooking lesson giving wonderful cooking tips along the way. The food was fabulous and generous. It was a fabulous lunch and education for less than most of the restaurants in New Orleans.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank steveguidry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,887
    235
    44
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to the 2pm cooking class, featuring artichoke and shrimp soup, crawfish etoufee and pralines. Based on the other reviews, we had hoped for something more, but it was just average. This was kinda like attending the old Emeril cooking shows on Food Network - more show than cooking, more about the chef's personality than about learning or eating. If that's what you want, you'll be very happy - Chef Kevin (Big Kev) is a lively (BIG) guy and does his best to keep everyone entertained. But if you are a serious foodie or aspiring chef, you might find it disappointing, as we did. There is no hands-on instruction - it is all about watching Big Kev - and there is alot of dead time, which Big Kev tries his best to fill, but to us just made it seem too long. The food was pretty good, especially the etoufee, but not spectacular. All in all, good entertainment for a cold/rainy day when you have a few hours to kill, but not a great learning experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank maxira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

A class with Chef Kevin is a show: he's funny, witty, encourages questions from the audience and the best, cooks really good. Gumbo, rice and beans, pralines and pecan pies, everything just simple and delicious. And there were also very good drinks! I was really happy with the almost 3 hours we spent in the New Orleans School of Cooking and considered the price very good! I totally recommend this activity if you're in NOLA - ask for Chef Kevin, he's great!

Helpful?
Thank Mae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We took a morning class. The school is in the Fench Quarter and easy to get to.The instructor (Pat) was very knowledgeable and fun. The food was great and made for a fun day. Its worth every penny to go .I highly recommend you go every time you visit NOLA. We learned a lot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hitzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband really enjoyed Pat, the chef, and I was happy he learned some new recipes -- particularly New Orleans cooking!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans School of Cooking also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans School of Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing