We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Audubon Zoo

Audubon Zoo
Book In Advance
$12.31*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #23 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in historic Uptown New Orleans Audubon Zoo offers an exotic mix of animals from around the globe, engaging educational programs, hands-on animal encounters and lush gardens. Unique natural habitat exhibits—such as the award-winning Louisiana Swamp and Jaguar Jungle—showcase the relationship between people and nature. Don't miss the daily animal presentations, chats and feeds; our highly endangered whooping cranes, Amur leopards and orangutans; our white tiger; and our mysterious white alligators. Audubon Zoo is often ranked among the country’s best for innovation and entertainment value!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
PORT ORANGE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“mixed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The grounds were great and most animals had lots of natural space. The amphibian exhibit is extensive

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MonthlyTraveler31169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    555
    207
    50
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and pleasant day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We really enjoyed the Louisiana swamp part, and it looks like the updates to the zoo will make it a finer destination. Loved the green spaces and the themed areas, especially the Mayan area. Great for pictures.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday afternoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Took our 2 year old grandson and his mom for a visit. We had a very nice stroll through the zoo. Too bad the elephant display was being renovated. I think the $12.00 admission for a 2 year old is extreme, considering what the adults have to pay. I realize Katrina damaged the zoo and it is pleasant, but not sensational. It could use some trash patrol, also. All staff were very courteous and the volunteer youngsters in the hands-on area were delightful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank webbgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Asian section is closed at this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We come every year live to see the white alligator! Amazing. Unfortunately a good part of the park is closed now (no elephants or monkeys etc :( the Asian section is closed now)

Helpful?
1 Thank Mybella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fun little zoo. Skip the $7 train ride. The zoo is quite maneagable walking. Don't miss the LA bayou section. The white alligators are a rare site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Audubon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing