We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice little zoo in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Zoo

Audubon Zoo
Book In Advance
$12*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #22 of 316 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take a worldwide safari through Asia, Africa, Australian Outback and the Louisiana Swamp to view more than 1,500 animal species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fun little zoo. Skip the $7 train ride. The zoo is quite maneagable walking. Don't miss the LA bayou section. The white alligators are a rare site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    512
    196
    48
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Audubon Zoo, New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Check out the various Bayou exhibits - not to be missed and get top the zoo by boat of by bus up Magazine Street

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbria_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice day at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Relatively small zoo (compared to those in other cities) but one with some quality exhibits. It's accessible via the bus from downtown/the French Quarter, which was essential. We didn't get to see the gators (we were too tired), but the giraffe exhibit and some of the others were very impressive. If possible, don't go on a really hot and humid day, especially since the heat will drive some of the animals to hide. Oh, and if you get a "smoothie" to cool down -- just realize they can't give you straws (to protect the animals), so you'll be eating it with a spoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greyjoy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harris, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends while in NOLA. We all agreed it would be the perfect place to have a membership to if you lived in the area.

Helpful?
Thank WhowhoMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful zoo, our family loves it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was the first year we bought the annual zoo membership. I am happy we did and will continue to. Although the zoo is expensive to visit one time, the membership is worth is if you can make many trips throughout the year. The zoo is beautiful. There are a lot of animals. The food and drinks are expensive though. I usually have the kids eat before and then stop and eat out once we leave. It really is a nice place to spend the day with the family. I do think they need to pressure wash more often. I am not saying the zoo is dirty but it is not as clean as it could be for the prices they charge inside the zoo. All in all our daughters are very excited when we say we are going to the zoo.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bnkb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing