We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the elephants”
Review of Audubon Zoo

Audubon Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.64*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
More Info
$21.67*
and up
New Orleans City Express Tour
Ranked #23 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in historic Uptown New Orleans Audubon Zoo offers an exotic mix of animals from around the globe, engaging educational programs, hands-on animal encounters and lush gardens. Unique natural habitat exhibits—such as the award-winning Louisiana Swamp and Jaguar Jungle—showcase the relationship between people and nature. Don't miss the daily animal presentations, chats and feeds; our highly endangered whooping cranes, Amur leopards and orangutans; our white tiger; and our mysterious white alligators. Audubon Zoo is often ranked among the country’s best for innovation and entertainment value!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Summit, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the elephants”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Love that the elephants roam free. The Zoo is really kept up well and the tram car is a nice ride. It's a nice location for you to see a lot of the city on your way to the zoo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,238
    619
    228
    52
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small with great views”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My family enjoys visiting the Houston Zoo often, so we couldn't help but compare the two. This zoo is much smaller, but had a really great selection of animals to view. Their enclosures all had enrichment items but were not so large that we couldn't see them. The orangutan put on a show, climbing on ropes and the silverback gorillas had boxes that they kept rearranging. A train ride around the zoo was an extra $5 a person, but worth it with unlimited rides. The food setup was easy to navigate with a good selection and good prices. All in all, a great experience that is recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephnrich25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zooooo”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Only spent a few minutes in the zoo, but it was a great place. About 5 miles from the French Quarter. I had to go by bus and trolley, but it was a fun journey there. Wish I had kids with me...they seem to appreciate zoos more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Zoo, better than expected”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited the zoo on a Sunday afternoon. It was beautiful. Wonderful layout and design. The animals are well-kept and easily accessible. There is even a hands-on kids exhibit. It was a great way to spend the afternoon with the family while visiting New Orleans. I would highly recommend to other families and couples.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bellabluskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Little Zoo!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Took the trolly through the Garden District and ended up at the wonderful gem in the city! Loved how the animals were represented in their nativie habitats and not just in cages. The property looks well cared for and the animals happy to be out in the open!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Audubon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing