We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Activity for All” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Audubon Aquarium of the Americas

Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.64*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #31 of 339 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the Mississippi River adjacent to the French Quarter Audubon Aquarium of the Americas immerses you in an underwater world. The colors of a Caribbean reef come alive in our walk-through tunnel, while our penguins and Southern sea otter enchant you with their antics. Touch a sting ray, feed a parakeet, and marvel at our gigantic sharks, tarpon, and rays in the 400,000 gallon Gulf of Mexico Exhibit. Watch for sea turtles throughout the Aquarium-as coordinator of the Louisiana Marine Mammal and Sea Turtle Rescue Program, we prepare many of them for release to the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
USA
Level Contributor
622 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Great Activity for All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent 3 hours here with a grandson. In a city full of adult entertainment this is a nice refuge. We had fun feeding the stingrays, watching penguins being fed. The exhibits are very well done and you have an opportunity to talk to docents every so often to ask questions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank One2travelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    976
    844
    393
    58
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun for Anyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

It was great but their penguins were gone when I came to visit and they were the main reason we went to the aquarium :( Overall it was a wonderful experience and I recommend it for all ages.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Loved the parakeet exhibit. It is expensive unless you look for discount tickets but it is worth it especially for the kids. It can get busy but there is a good flow to the exhibits. It takes about three hours if you do the IMAX theater so give yourself time. Lots of variety of fish both marine and freshwater, amphibians and other animals. Informative presentations by the staff add to the trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank trvlngtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We all had a great time at the Aquarium (4 adults, 4 kids aged 8-11). We were able to observe the stingrays being fed and watched a presentation on various sea life in the main tank. The kids loved the pool where you can touch a stingray. Not a whole day activity, but a great 4 hours or so.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorJackMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you can find discount tickets or have reciprocity with another aquarium then this is a good stop. Without these, the aquarium is a bit pricey. My daughter enjoyed a few hours there, but nobody was wow'd.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCtraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Aquarium of the Americas also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Aquarium of the Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing