We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place for the family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Aquarium of the Americas

Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Book In Advance
$12*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #29 of 318 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Home to sea creatures from the Caribbean, Amazon, Gulf of Mexico and Mississippi River.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a neat place to take the family! The new addition of the parakeet pointe was so much fun! To have the interaction with the birds and to feed them was amazing!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    733
    343
    52
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were visiting New Orleans with our 5yr old daughter and tried to find family friendly activities for her. This was place was great. It isn't a large aquarium but you will be able to spend a few hours in the aquarium looking at all the exhibits and aquatic life.

Great place to go with small children.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Serena107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A fun day for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recommend that everyone get the combination package where you get admission to the aquarium, the insectorium and to the imax movie. When we got the package, they let us have the movie passes for the next morning so we did not have to overload our grandson. We were disappointed they were redoing the penguin exhibit so that was closed, but our 13 month old grandson loved seeing all the animals and especially enjoyed the parakeet room. You can buy the food stick and the parakeet will fly onto the food stick. They also landed on people's shoulders . They were extremely friendly and we had a good time. We came in when it opened at 10 had lunch, left after lunch, had a nap and then went to the insectorium. The next morning we saw the imax 3d movie on the coral reefs. No atrollers in the imax, but if you give them a driver's license, they will give you a lock for the stroller at no charge

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Over Priced & Over Rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been to many aquariums throughout the country and to be honest this was one of the least impressive that we have visited. The entire aquarium takes less than an hour to traverse and for the cost of admission I would spend the money on something else.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aligators and penguins oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a very popular spot for kids and adults. It can take several hours to see it all throughly. Especially great on rainy days. Check out the Hurricane Wind booth or feed the sting rays. There is a lot more to do down by the riverside. Look for the big glass building next to the Mississippi River.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bookwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Aquarium of the Americas also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Aquarium of the Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing