We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the $$ better spend these on Frenchmen street”

Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #19 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mardi Gras World is the most unique attraction in America’s most uniquely attractive city. Come see how Mardi Gras is made and get up close to Mardi Gras' grandest floats and sculptures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not worth the $$ better spend these on Frenchmen street”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Visted MGW wit my wife. Cheap tour, first a dress up for about 15 minutes, followed by a 20 minute movie on Madi Grass and then a tour through the warehouse about 15 minutes.

In all Madi Grass is intersting but the dress up was a hoax and I found it a tool to make sure the tour lasts about an hour. The movie was not that informative, I'm sure I can find the same info on the internet. The tour through the warehouse was not to bad but apart from the manufacturing process not that interesting either.

Safe your $$ and spend these on tips and possibly a cd on Frenchmen street. Hear live jazz and see some actual dixy swing dancing. The artists actually deserve a couple of $$.

Cafe the Spotted Cat had a live performance of Shotgun Jazz - excellent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank harald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,700
    1,047
    251
    51
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A must for a visit to New Orleans!!! Loved seeing the props they were working on for Mardi Gras this year. Amazing to find out that they do work for other people as well like Chick-fil-a.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eye opening”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our shuttle picked up right on time and the driver was very pleasant. the tour was very interesting and informative. Even our 7 year olds were interested. the tour of the warehouse was awesome. you get to see everything from the artists working to the stored props. our pictures are terrific. Great backstage view of Mardi Gras.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebo
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Oh what fun......”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Delightful guide shows you thru Mardi Gras World and all things Mardi Gras following a brief film showing it's history. You have access to practically all parts of the building and there is a lot to see and learn!

Was there with a tour group and they all loved this place! Check it out!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CHazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“An Explosion of Color!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

You do not have to be an artist to appreciate the skill required to make these magnificent float characters. The tour consisted of a guided tour throught the facility. Our guide provided us with information on how the characters are made, how the characters are selected, and the history of many of the floats. I was impressed with the brilliant colors and the details of the characters, We saw the film and had an opportunity to try on some customs but I thought the customs were more suited for children. After the movie, we had a chance to go back into the warehouse and stay as long as we wished to take pictures and see the floats at our own pace. It was great!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World also viewed

 

Been to Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing