We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting ,do something different and go see it”

Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #19 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mardi Gras World is the most unique attraction in America’s most uniquely attractive city. Come see how Mardi Gras is made and get up close to Mardi Gras' grandest floats and sculptures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very interesting ,do something different and go see it”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It is so much fun to see the artists creating the new floats. The tour is short but very interesting. There is also a very fun video where you will be able to try some costumes, so bring your camera. Have fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank farm2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,670
    1,034
    248
    51
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Big Head”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This requires a shuttle to get to, and we waited for an hour for the shuttle. The driver was sullen, and claimed we never called the first two times. Actually, the concierge called, and it is unlikely he messed up, I think the driver was just waiting for a full shuttle.

This is an active workshop, and the different construction areas were interesting; carpentry, paper mache, painting, assembly. We could see many of the familiar floats, and the guide was informative. Definitely worth a couple hours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichGTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is huge warehouse where floats are made and stored. It is interesting to see how they are designed, reused, and repaired.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mojoDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“See how the Mardi Gras floats are made”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great distraction for a few hours for all ages. We enjoyed it much more than we thought we would. I expected to like it but really loved it. All the larger than life props, the spectacular floats, the time to try on the costumes and take photos. I give it an A for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“See Mardi Gra being made”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It is fun to see the various floats in varying stages of completion progress to get a sense of how they build them. This is a very large warehouse just filled with floats. There is also a store to but trinkets. Our company hosted a party at Mardi Gras world which was fabulous.They brought in food and music and we got to spend the evening having our own little MArdi Gras with a little parade just for us.

Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World also viewed

 

Been to Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing