We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See how the Mardi Gras floats are made”

Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #19 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mardi Gras World is the most unique attraction in America’s most uniquely attractive city. Come see how Mardi Gras is made and get up close to Mardi Gras' grandest floats and sculptures.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“See how the Mardi Gras floats are made”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great distraction for a few hours for all ages. We enjoyed it much more than we thought we would. I expected to like it but really loved it. All the larger than life props, the spectacular floats, the time to try on the costumes and take photos. I give it an A for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,669
    1,034
    248
    51
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“See Mardi Gra being made”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It is fun to see the various floats in varying stages of completion progress to get a sense of how they build them. This is a very large warehouse just filled with floats. There is also a store to but trinkets. Our company hosted a party at Mardi Gras world which was fabulous.They brought in food and music and we got to spend the evening having our own little MArdi Gras with a little parade just for us.

Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had a blast seeing the floats in various stages of construction. The movie shown at the start of the tour was very interesting and informative, and the guide was very entertaining. I enjoyed the piece of King Cake I received at the end of the tour it was delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Learned alot”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The floats and the amount of work is amazing, This Company is one of 35 producers of floats, but its the largest and I think the oldest. Only $20 & you get to put on an outfit and take pictures as well

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toplsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap, But Still Fun”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is obviously a tourist trap, there's no way to deny that, but that doesn't mean it isn't still cool.

We took the shuttle from our hotel and met some really funny people, and then paid for the tour. The tour consisted of an old but informative 10minute video on Mardi Gras, then a guided tour around the workshop and warehouse, ending with the tour guide saying 'you're free to walk around and see everything else, there's king cake inside if you want some, if you have any other questions let me know, otherwise enjoy'. It was actually a lot of fun getting to walk around, seeing the floats being made, as well as just the size and style of some of the ones from last year. While this place IS a museum, it's more than that, it's one of many storage warehouses for the Mardi Gras floats, and when we were there, we actually got to see the artists working on ones for next year.

So yes, this place is a tourist trap, but it really was a lot of fun, and for the minimal entry cost, I'd definitely say it's worth going to once.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveling_mrfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World also viewed

 

Been to Blaine Kern's Mardi Gras World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing