We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
397 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 397 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
granpoder
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfection”
Reviewed November 3, 2009 for a stay in October 2009
2
people found this review helpful

La Maison Marigny is without a doubt the best place to stay when in the Big Easy. It is a beautiful, charming property, and John and Gil redefine the term host. The b&b is close to all the excitement of the french quarter, but located on a quiet street nearby, so you can actually escape the commotion and get some rest. Excellent food was promptly served every morning and your hosts bend over backward to make you feel like an old friend, not a customer. Gil is from NOLA and will regale you with tales of the history and culture if you only ask him. John is always just a cell phone call away if you get lost or need a suggestion for dinner or a watering hole. I cannot imagine every staying anywhere else when in New Orleans.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC-SnP
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else”
Reviewed October 21, 2009 for a stay in October 2009
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in New Orleans countless times and are sorry we just now stumbled upon Maison Marigny. Our experience was wonderful! Our room was large, clean and beautifully decorated with antiques and great finishing touches as was the entire house. It felt more like a home then a room rental. John, our host , gave us helpful tips, some local color and a nice enjoyable breakfast. ( Homemade muffins you could smells coming up the stairs). He was more then helpful with our late arrival and we had plenty of helpful touring information waiting for us in our room. The location was a quick walk to the French Quarter, close but yet far enough to have nice quiet sleeping. The neighborhood itself has good restuarants, bars, live music and wonderful homes. Thumbs up all around! S&P from NYC

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorolo
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a wonderful B&B”
Reviewed October 5, 2009 for a stay in August 2009
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in last days of August and I have to say that it was a perfect stay. Nice house, nice rooms and very quite neighbourhood, but near french quarter and quite near most attractions. AC a bit heavy for us...maybe perfect for american people, but unimportant. John makes delicious cakes for breakfast and gives nice conversation too. Good decision if you want to be in a quite place but near the city center. Nice garden in the back side to relax. ...And free Wifi !!
Thanks John!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honkycat
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 10, 2009 for a stay in July 2009
2
people found this review helpful

We were here for 3 nights in July and loved it. We were lucky in that we were upgraded to the suite and it was beautiful. The guest house is, as has been said, at the "right end" of Bourbon St. so you're walking distance to everything, but quiet and non-seedy. We just walked everywhere or got the trolley out to the Garden District. John is brilliant. He made us feel really welcome and we really enjoyed our chats at breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again when we come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samurai65
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 22, 2009 for a stay in July 2009
2
people found this review helpful

The B&B is conveniently located within walking distance to all of downtown French Quarter attractions. It was quiet, comfortable and the rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. The owner, John, was a wonderful host and made us feel comfortable. I felt that this was much better than any hotel stay and I highly recommend the La Maison Marigny to anyone who wants a nice location to rest after a day of sightseeing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chassoho
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When you can't take it anymore...”
Reviewed July 17, 2009 for a stay in June 2009
2
people found this review helpful

“Vacation is what you take when you can't take what you've been taking any longer," goes an old saying.

When you can't take it any longer, you head to New Orleans for the mix of food, music, drink and [fill in the blank, preferably with something legal]. You also head to La Maison Marigny.

Built in 1898, the Queen Anne style B&B is a shaded respite from the blazing hot city. My rose-colored room with a garden view was as quiet as if someone had covered it with a Cone of Silence. The bathroom, unusually for many B&Bs, was large, with excellent natural and artificial illumination. There was plenty of space for two people to put all their toiletries.

When you wake up in the morning, John has prepared muffins and pastries as good as those at Croissant D'or -lemon-poppyseed muffins, perhaps, or a chocolate-strawberry panini. On rainy days -or when you need to recover between bouts of gluttony and imbibing- there's a trove of CDs, books, and magazines to occupy you (the reading material is heavily weighted toward local matters.) Each room also has an especially good supply of travel guides to find the next place to go wild at. The refrigerator is amply stocked with snacks for the late-night munchies, and if you happen to be up at that hour anyway, sit on the enclosed back courtyard -a favorite place to enjoy John's baking in the morning- and relax under the stars.

Jus a block outside the French Quarter -and a few blocks from the jazz clubs on Frenchman St.- the Marigny is close enough to be convenient to most tourist destinations but just enough off the main path to feel as relaxing as a spa treatment when you're done for the day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ani_SF
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly, fantastic location..a great representation of NOLA”
Reviewed July 14, 2009 for a stay in April 2009
2
people found this review helpful

I can't find anything bad to say about La Maison Marigny. Not only is it a convenient B&B, John is wonderful and makes the best muffins. Every morning, you will be greeted with delicious homemade muffins. I would come back to La Maison Marigny again and again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing