We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“When you can't take it anymore...”
other travelers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
397 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 397 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
chassoho
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When you can't take it anymore...”
Reviewed July 17, 2009 for a stay in June 2009
2
people found this review helpful

“Vacation is what you take when you can't take what you've been taking any longer," goes an old saying.

When you can't take it any longer, you head to New Orleans for the mix of food, music, drink and [fill in the blank, preferably with something legal]. You also head to La Maison Marigny.

Built in 1898, the Queen Anne style B&B is a shaded respite from the blazing hot city. My rose-colored room with a garden view was as quiet as if someone had covered it with a Cone of Silence. The bathroom, unusually for many B&Bs, was large, with excellent natural and artificial illumination. There was plenty of space for two people to put all their toiletries.

When you wake up in the morning, John has prepared muffins and pastries as good as those at Croissant D'or -lemon-poppyseed muffins, perhaps, or a chocolate-strawberry panini. On rainy days -or when you need to recover between bouts of gluttony and imbibing- there's a trove of CDs, books, and magazines to occupy you (the reading material is heavily weighted toward local matters.) Each room also has an especially good supply of travel guides to find the next place to go wild at. The refrigerator is amply stocked with snacks for the late-night munchies, and if you happen to be up at that hour anyway, sit on the enclosed back courtyard -a favorite place to enjoy John's baking in the morning- and relax under the stars.

Jus a block outside the French Quarter -and a few blocks from the jazz clubs on Frenchman St.- the Marigny is close enough to be convenient to most tourist destinations but just enough off the main path to feel as relaxing as a spa treatment when you're done for the day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ani_SF
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly, fantastic location..a great representation of NOLA”
Reviewed July 14, 2009 for a stay in April 2009
2
people found this review helpful

I can't find anything bad to say about La Maison Marigny. Not only is it a convenient B&B, John is wonderful and makes the best muffins. Every morning, you will be greeted with delicious homemade muffins. I would come back to La Maison Marigny again and again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDAA
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Another great review of the La Maison Marigny”
Reviewed July 12, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

Having never been to New Orleans, and having had great luck using TA to find hotels for other locations, I used it again for this trip. I was not disappointed. I'm not sure there is much I can add that hasn't been mentioned in the previous reviews:
- John was a great host. He knows the area and can provide a lot of advice on what to see and do. The muffins and waffles we had for breakfast were great!
- The location is very good. It was within easy walking distance of the Canal/Riverfront streetcar line (FYI... the Canal streetcar is out of service for awhile for some maintenance work) and to the French Quarter. It was far enough down Bourbon to be away from the noisy section. The location appeared to be mostly residential. My wife and I felt comfortable walking from the house to the French Quarter and the riverfront, even in the evening.
- We had the balcony queen room and loved it. We loved the antique furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size. There was plenty of storage space for clothes. The room came with a DVD player and LCD TV, plus a refrigerator.
Overall, it was a great stay in a great place. It had the feel of staying at a house and coming home every evening.

As an added note - This was our first trip to NO and we really liked it. I'm amazed at how well the city is functioning after a catastrophe like Katrina and the residents seems truly thankful to have people coming to visit. I wouldn't hesitate about visiting NO if you aren't sure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ward34
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly b and b in French Quarter”
Reviewed July 11, 2009 for a stay in June 2009

We stayed here for four nights. We were met by John who was very friendly and helpful with tips for our holiday. This bed and breakfast is situated on Bourbon Street but at the far end, away from the action. It is very quiet and about a 10-15 minute walk to the jazz clubs on Bourbon Street and about a 10 minute walk to the streetcars at the French Market. We had the b and b to ourselves for three out of four nights. We had the balcony room which was plenty big enough with a robe, plenty of drawer space and a good sizes bathroom. If you have alot of bags, you will have to get them up the stairs if you pick an upstairs room. Breakfast was great with John baking something new every day, like muffins, waffles, scones, etc. Help yourself to drinks from the fridge, internet is free on the computer in the lounge, plenty of reading material especially on New Orleans and snacks available at all times. While there we went on the Post-katrina tour which was an eye-opener and well worth doing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorro55
Tallahassee
1 review
“Felt like home in the heart of New Orleans!”
Reviewed July 8, 2009 for a stay in June 2009

John is an amazing host. He upgraded our room a few days before we arrived and we had a balcony for the (somewhat) cooler nights. The room was perfect, the breakfast always tasty, the advice and small talk refreshing, and the overall experience relaxing and enjoyable. We hope to return in a cooler month! By the way, the back yard, patio and garden area is a great place to get a quiet moment. Can't wait to see the paint job! Peace.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefsWife...
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay for exploring the Big Easy”
Reviewed June 3, 2009 for a stay in March 2009
2
people found this review helpful

It was our first time to visit New Orleans and I'm SO glad we chose La Maison Marigny for our stay!

As soon as we got there and got unloaded we were given a map of the area as well as a run down of cool places to go to ...even a laughable look at what to do and not to do in New O. John was a great help for us!!
It was clean…Very cozy & quiet.

We stayed in the Queen Balcony room that over looks Bourbon Street. One of the nice things about the B&B is that its on the 'quiet end' of town yet still so close to everything. Once we got there and saw all the other super neat places to stay (along Royal and other streets), we still kept saying how glad we were to be staying here instead of those places (instead of the other neat places) b/c of the great 'quiet' location. Its nice to be all in the mix of everything but have a place you can retreat back to get some Zzzz's!

Bed was comfy, bathroom nice and clean. Large pedestal sink in our room (important for girls and our face washing!) :P The Balcony was great as well...nice to just sit outside and 'people' watch or read...

Also, John makes wonderful muffins and the coffee with chicory is great too (In his little glass bee dishware; which we learned was actually another symbol of French Royalty, along side the Fleur-de-lis.) There are snack foods out 24/7 incase you get hungry between meals or after a late night out.


We didn't expect to fall in love with New Orleans...but we certainly did and would love to return.

So thankful for John's desire to really make people feel welcome to the New Orleans/ the B&B and also make you want to return. He and Dewey have worked hard at their accommodations & hospitality and it shows!

Thanks so much!

Jeremy and Amy Conner
Oklahoma

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treegarde...
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close In Far Away Ideal Old New Orleans”
Reviewed May 29, 2009 for a stay in May 2009

Located a half block outside the French Quarter across the tree covered Esplanade in upscale residential Marigny it couldn't be closer walking distance yet further away from the heartbeat and soul of charming New Orleans. With a professional career in hotel management the savvy proprietors hit the top of every metric for their B&B. Spotless cleanliness throughout, punctual continental breakfast that includes fresh cut fruit and fresh baked muffins everyday, rooms of antiques in deeply colorful victorian decor, relaxed vine covered walled patio with trees and fountain, they attract courteous and friendly guests, just like they are. My wife and I loved our stay in this old and friendly New Orleans 2 story Victorian B&B immaculately managed by our very capable proprietors. We'll be back for sure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing