We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really and truly lovely!”
other travelers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
397 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 397 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
fishfry45
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really and truly lovely!”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I chose this B&B because of the great reviews and the location, and the fact that it was more affordable than some of the smaller hotels near by. It did not disappoint. In fact it far exceeded expectation and was so much better than some of the near by hotels.

John (one of the owners) was the ultimate host!
I was worried at first, when he said he didn't live on the property. But he was there every morning to greet us with a wonderful breakfast, coffee; and every day something new to try! He was available by phone or email for anything else that came up. The rooms were lovely - really cool decor, rich tones in the bedding and window treatments; very New Orleans in style; the bed was super comfortable and the furniture also tastefully appointed.
The house has a really pretty courtyard with a nice, comfy seating area, complete with a fountain and pretty flowers.
I would/hope to go back soon!

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melpesc
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Great location"”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This B&B is right on the quiet end of Bourbon Street. We were able to walk everywhere in the French Quarter. The accommodations were lovely. John, the Proprietor cooked us a wonderful breakfast and was very informative. We will definitely be returning.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tusker195...
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our Own Flat”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 11 nights back in Nov./14. It felt like we had the place to ourselves. We rented the owner's suite on the main floor. So we had use of the suite, the front porch, the kitchen and the back patio. There were other guests on the second floor, but the only time we saw or heard them was at breakfast or on leaving for the day.
John was there for the first couple of days then he and his partner went on a vacation for Thanksgiving. His housekeeper kept us well fed at breakfast during John's absence.
It got very cold at night so the furnace came on. Which is fine except that it wouldn't go off all night. So by morning it was like a sauna in our room. It turns out that because they have single pane glass in the window the kitchen and hall get cold and it is hard for the furnace to bring up the temperature. The following nights I just turned down the temperature.
Other than that the visit went well.
We were within walking distance of Frenchman St. a lot better than Bourbon St. We could walk to the French Market and the trolley. We walked 2 minutes up Esplanade to Port of Call restaurant. A great place for a hamburger.
It was a great stay. We are still talking about it to family and friends.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavinaLee
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More intimate than commercial accomodation”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This was my first time staying in a b&b and New Orleans and I was not sure what to expect. There were 3 other couples staying at the house and besides the ocassional passing in the hall or breakfast it was so private and intimate. The owner does not live in the house so a lot of the time you are alone at he house which is nice it kind of makes you feel like a local. We had the owners suite at the front of the house and the room was ornately yet modernly decorated to suit the era of the home, john was so helpful and had lots of good tips and restaurant listings to help guide our way. The house is in an excellent location and we walked everywhere besides the airport. It's at the quiet end of bourbon and did not hear a sound from the party end of the street. We arrived just in time for the start of Mardi Gras so things around town were wild but I always felt safe. The house is well secured. I enjoyed the hearty Cajun breakfasts and sitting on the rocking chairs out the front or the sofas out the back listening to the relaxing trickle of the fountain. Everything is so close and in an historic location. Thanks again :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin646
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great space and a great time!”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from staying at the La Maison Marigny, and we had a great time! It was on Bourbon street so everything was within walking distance. We didn't have to get a cab once (except to go to and from the airport). We were able to explore many different areas, including the local jazz/bar area that was around the corner from the B&B.

We ended up having the whole place to ourselves due to the snow storm in the NE. So we had a very relaxing time sitting on the porch both front and back while planning our sightseeing. We were in the suite and it was very cozy. Plus, John made breakfast every morning that was amazing! Way better than getting a hotel breakfast bar. Super delicious and of course he was very helpful with giving ideas and tips for places to go.

We had a great time and will definitely stay here again on our next trip!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mholder37
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hits the high points”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Would book again! More 'character' than 'luxurious' but covers the must-haves very well.

PROS - Very friendly host, location is awesome, good price, great towels/robes/linens, quiet, secure, good breakfast.
CONS - shower head needs replacing or cleaning, no soda selection, antique bedroom armoire so rickety it's not really useable, no lotion or hair conditioner.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Thanks so much for the review! We're glad you had a nice visit and would return again. We are due to replace the armoire in your guest room soon. Many guests love it but a newer model may be a nice change. Also, we have no plans to offer sodas as part of our snacks package but we do offer water, coffees, teas, juices, cookies, chips, pretzels and more. Likewise, our Gilchrist and Soames bath gels and shampoos are the only hair and body products offered at the B&B as we've that these are the ones used by all guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8_Dyer_In...
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Property and Service”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We are just wrapping up a week-long stay at La Maison Marigny on Bourbon and can't say enough about the entire experience. John is the consummate innkeeper: available whenever you need anything (and especially when he cooks his gourmet breakfasts) but leaves you to enjoy the beautiful and well-maintained public spaces. With just four rooms, you are sure to get his full and extensive knowledge of New Orleans attractions and dining.

The rooms are large and beautifully decorated with Mardi Gras themes and collectibles. The property boasts a large eat-in kitchen where breakfast is cooked-to-order every morning. And what a breakfast it is: local coffee, baked items, eggs and sausage... it was always delicious, seasonal and filling. There is a nicely landscaped patio with a covered gazebo and a fountain that is very evocative of New Orleans. On the front of the house is a porch with rocking chairs that are perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by.

The location is perfect. You are right on Bourbon but less than a block out of the Quarter. It is two blocks to the restaurants and music of Frenchmen Street. You are close enough to walk anywhere but far enough that you don't get the crazy noise or hordes of people. This place feels very safe and with a locked front iron gate is totally secure.

We completely recommend this beautiful and welcoming B&B. It is the complete package!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
It's always wonderful to get great feedback, of course, and it's a little sweeter when it comes from fellow innkeepers who themselves own a fantastic property! Thanks for spending your week with us while in New Orleans and we look forward to seeing you both again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing