We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spring stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home full frontal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
397 reviews
Gourmet kitchen built from ground up in last five years!
our home
full frontal view
main gate
front porch
kitchen/sunroom
great kitchen, with courtyard thru windows
kitchen
queen bedroom upstairs
queen bedroom upstairs.
courtyard seating.
queen bedroom
queen bedroom upstairs
courtyard
downstairs suite bedroom
room #2 shower
room #3 bath
balcony queen room upstairs.
view from front room balcony
suite parlor
suite bathroom
stairs - not kid-friendly!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 397 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
ArtSnob52
San Rafael, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spring stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from our first visit to NOLA. We enjoyed our 4-night stay at Maison Marigny. Its location right off one of the city's lovliest streets, Esplanade, was perfect for walking everywhere in the Quarter without staying in the midst of noise, crowds, and the grime of Bourbon Street. It was also a perfect short walk for late nights at the clubs on Frenchman Street. We went to the CBD and art district a couple of times easily with a combo of streetcar, walking, and cab. John guided us well on our outings. And as Californians used to eating lots of fresh fruits and vegetables—and finding those foods either woefully missing or loaded with bacon—John specially made fruit salad just for us at breakfast. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet at night. It was a perfect value and lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us! It's always our pleasure to accommodate guests' wants and needs as much as possible, and "more fruit" was a very easy request to fulfill! :-) Please come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chariotch...
Derby in the UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed April 25, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here April 2012, have been to New Orleans a few times having stayed previously at the Old Victorian and Royal Street Courtyard which in themselves were great B&B's, until I discovered La Maison Marigny. This place is a great little jewel so full of charm and charisma. Located at the end of Bourbon Street, it’s very quiet, peaceful and very safe, just minutes from the jazz, bars and restaurants of Frenchman street and several blocks to the traditional Bourbon street happenings and high jinks it is renowned for.
The room we had was the Balcony room, it had air con, wide screen TV, comfortable new beds which I believe all the rooms have, and we had a nice balcony area to walk out on to for a glass of wine before you go out.
Breakfast was the biggest surprise of all, I only expected a basic continental which I was accustomed to at previous establishments, but John the owner cooked up a mean breakfast every morning of hot goodies of blueberry bread pudding, breakfast pizzas with corn beef hash, chocolate croissants, blueberry muffins and a host of other delights all freshly made in his new kitchen and served to you with coffee and juice.
What was also part of the price were complimentary drinks of coke, sometimes beers, chips, cookies etc. available through the day. A nice courtyard to take breakfast, coffee or a few beers to mingle with fellow guests.
Oh yes I almost forgot, the host, the most important, John a great hospitable and welcoming guy, full of knowledge, recommendations where to eat and visit, gets everyone involved in conversations with the other guests if you are a little shy.
It’s so easy to see why people keep coming back and I don’t know how it took me so long to find.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2012
Thanks, guys, for your wonderful review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay in both our balcony room and in New Orleans! We always love hosting guests from the UK and I enjoyed learning more about Derby and the Midlands. We look forward to seeing you again in a couple of years!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I never write reviews, but we loved this B&B!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have never written a review, but felt compelled to rave about La Maison Marigny! My husband and I just celebrated our 30th Anniversary in the city where we got married...NOLA!! I wanted someplace special to stay, so after reading numerous reviews on Trip Advisor, I settled on the owner's suite at La Maison Marigny and couldn't be more pleased. Staying at this B&B was special in every way. We could easily walk through the French Quarter, yet the location of the B&B is very quiet, safe and serene. The house itself is gorgeous...very high-end linens, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Probably the best aspect of our stay here was our host, John Ramsey. He was a wealth of knowledge and information that helped us see New Orleans from the eyes of a native, not a tourist. He was just delightful, and a great cook! Everything about our stay was perfect...we will never stay anywhere else when visiting New Orleans.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2012
Wow! I love reading that someone who never writes reviews took the time to do it just for us. Wonderful! I am so glad you enjoyed New Orleans, my cooking and La Maison Marigny. Please do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrgus19
New Westminster, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful host”
Reviewed March 30, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

La Maison Marigny could not be in a better location for exploring NOLA, particularly if you like to walk -- just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street and a short cab ride everywhere else. John is the consummate host: friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable. His breakfasts do the job, especially the Nutella-stuffed French toast. Some B&Bs provide an extremely lavish gourmet breakfast, but that's not really necessary or even appropriate in a food town like NOLA, where you're likely to be eating four or five times a day :-}. (As John put it, "You don't have to be hungry to eat," especially in NOLA!) We stayed in the Deluxe Queen room for six nights and were very comfortable. The B&B is surprisingly quiet at night, considering it's just a few blocks from often-raucous Bourbon Street scene. We had only a couple of very small quibbles about the room, First, other guests sometimes forgot to turn off the stair light, which streamed through the transom and woke us up; dark curtains on the transom would really help. Second, the jute rug is pretty but murder on bare feet! Softer carpeting would be much easier on the tootsies. As mentioned, though, these are not serious complaints. The next time we visit NOLA, we will definitely be staying at La Maison Marigny. True dat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us! I personally appreciate the "wonderful host" comments and am thrilled that you agree that our location is among the best in New Orleans! I've made a note of the suggestions for improving the guest room experience and we will definitely consider making those changes happen. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howard n
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surrounded by activity, but still quiet”
Reviewed March 25, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I loved our three day stay. John, the host, was very friendly, helpful, and a good cook.
The Maison Marigny is just blocks from the Bourbon St. scene, as well as being even closer to the Frenchman St. jazz activity. The walk of about five blocks gave us a needed walk and needed quiet.

Owner's suite was a dream.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2012
Thanks, Howard! I'm glad you had a great visit despite a somewhat uncharacteristically rainy week.. Here's hoping for sunshine for your next visit to NOLA!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outofmylm...
los angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hospitality + ideal location”
Reviewed March 1, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

my girlfriend and i recently stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. as this was my first time visiting the big easy, john was of great help prior to our arrival with what to expect from the b&b and the city in general.

the house is quite the beautiful property - classic in style and touch yet with a modern bent to accommodate discerning travelers. we had the deluxe queen room upstairs, which comes complete with bathroom amenities, TV w/DVD player and iPhone charger/docking station, which thankfully rendered my charger useless!

each morning we enjoyed a different, exciting breakfast - including chocolate hazelnut french toast! - and it was nice to get to know john (he's a fantastic cook!) and the other guests in a friendly and relaxed environment.

last but not least, it's impossible to beat the location. situated on a quiet block on bourbon street at the end of the french quarter, it's literally three blocks away from frenchman street, where we had an amazing time at a couple of the jazz clubs. since we didn't have a car, this was a godsend as we could get to wherever we wanted by foot or by streetcar. it's also about a 1/2 mile from lil dizzy's café for great soul food and just about 2 miles away from the beautiful city park.

all in all, i can't recommend la maison marigny more highly...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed La Maison Marigny and its superior location. Frenchmen Street (2 blocks away) and the clubs of Bourbon Street (5 blocks away) definitely keep folks coming back for more. And who can neglect to mention all of the wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of the B&B?

Please visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbarryChi...
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One Mo Time....La Maison Marigny is the BEST!!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our 3rd consecutive year of staying at Masion Marigny for Mardi Gras. We had the Owner's suite each time, and it continues to be our favorite. It is our 2nd home and always feels great to come back. We are locals and can tell you, it doesn't get any better than this.

New this year is the kitchen and what a wonderful addition to this B&B. John, as usual, welcomed us and made us feel at home the whole time. Not to mention his upgraded breakfast menu. WOW!!!! The Royal treatment!!!!

Do not miss this B&B, a very special place.
Jim & Jack

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2012
One mo time...you are delightful guests and we're so pleased that you choose to stay with us every year for Carnival. What fun! And your AMAZING costumes were the talk of all the other guests. See you in 2013, if not before!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing