We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Maximo's Italian Grill
Ranked #840 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Gov. Nicholls
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful locals secret Italian food. Had a wonderful meal, waiter had pasta prepared for me that was not on the menu-yes they take special requests. Due to the rain and lack of cabs, Owner Tom gave me a half gallon of milk to take back to my hotel for my little one since I couldn't get to the store. Wonderful food, wonderful service!! A+

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronronmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    20
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great classic has gone down hill”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have been going to this restaurant for nearly 18 years. Have seen it through two previous ownership changes, hurricanes, etc. Quality, great service, and knowledgeable wait staff never varied. Unfortunately, we can't say this anymore. Was there last week during our annual pilgrimage to Jazzfest and we made it our first stop, as always. The server was clueless on details of specials, knew absolutely nothing about wine, and acted like we were bothering him. The lady at the front desk stated there would be a 15-20 minute wait, as we observed a half empty restaurant. We ignored her and headed straight for the kitchen bar where we always sit.

Pre-dinner bread was half the size and quality, The carpaccio seemed days old, and also miniturized. I had the lamb which was cooked well but lacked the unique flavoring I've come to expect here. My wife had veal (which we always loved here) and the quality of the meat was poor and it was slathered in some tasteless sauce. The wine list has become more narrow and yet pricey. I may or may not give this another try on the next trip. I can tell you the current ownership and executive chef need to up their game or a very loyal clientele will disappear. A tell tale sign - half empty during the Wednesday of Jazzfest week???

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAROBL813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

While this area can feel a bit unpolished, walking into Maximo's is a pleasant surprise. It is quiet and elegant, in an unstuffy way. The food is nothing short of fantastic. We had a great arugula salad with proscuitto that was delicious. All the plates are beautifully presented, creative, and good. The staff is super friendly. I can't wait to return, this is going to be a regular stop for us!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karawebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The food is good, but we wanted it to be better. We went on a Monday night and it was empty, but by the time we finished it was almost half full. Not sure I will go back unless someone else wants to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBBNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great break from Creole!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After enjoying fine creole for quite a few meals, we opted for something different - Maximo's was not only different but a great dinner - super menu(prices reasonable for New Orleans), attentive waitress, and great ambience - not crowded or noisy. We'll return on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximo's Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Maximo's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing