We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Maximo's Italian Grill
Ranked #843 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Gov. Nicholls
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The service was average, as was the food, although the chilli glazed scollops were a standout. The special appetiser, a melted cheese with pesto was cold and oily and the pesto used a basil that tasted like the plant had gone to seed. My pasta was tough with a bland filling. The veal was way too salty with not enough sauce. We spent more on this meal then our other "nice" meal at NOLA and the quality was inferior

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    20
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
“Rehearsal Dinner”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had the private dining area on the second floor for our son's rehearsal dinner. The food was outstanding - do not miss the lamb lollipops! - and the portions were huge. Service was fantastic. Our glasses were never empty. The ambience is just perfect - a true French Quarter restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenH731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new find!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Made a last minute reservation at 6 p.m. on a Friday night and so glad we did! They were able to squeeze us in later in the evening. By the time we arrived, the reservation was necessary as they were having to turn away walk-ins. Only waited a few minutes for our table to be ready and were quickly greeted and drink orders taken. The place was hopping but service was very good and attnentive. Started with the caprese salad - very good but a little light on the crab in comparison with most portions at other restaurants. The charcuterie at the next table looked wonderful and was getting much praise from the diners. Will definitely try it next time. I had the duck ravioli which was absolutely outstanding and a very generous portion. I am dreaming about the next time I can visit just for this dish. DH wanted the bolognese with homemade fettucini but they were out of it - I found this a little strange as it wasn''t that late in the evening and it is a regular menu item. Server suggested a penne in a spciy tomato sauce with sausage. It was actually quite spicy - a little too much so for DH taste - he should have went with the osso buco. This was just a little bump in the road and both look forward to our next visit - vibe is fun and the food was wonderful - highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L11C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We were headed for a different restaurant but it was too long a wait so finding Maximo's was pure luck but what a great piece of luck. Food was great and service matched it. None of us had had craw fish so the waiter had the chef cook up a few so we could try it. Three out of four ordered the spicy craw fish pasta and all agreed it was the best pasta dish we had ever had.

Helpful?
Thank krkhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and entertaining!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After a week in New Orleans it's easy to crave something other than Cajun and Creole. We found Maximo's. they were full but asked if we would like to sit at the bar in the kitchen... OK, the chef and his crew were so friendly, not that there is any other sought of hospitality in NOLA. We were watching them make not just ours but all of the meals in the restaurant, my husband picked up quite a few tips for us to cook at home. The Crab bisque was the best I have ever had, the veal cooked with mushrooms was perfect and then, Lemon cello cake with the chefs freshly made strawberry preserve...Wow... As I said a great night, we will make another 14 hour flight to have the experience again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berne3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximo's Italian Grill also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Maximo's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing