We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“ONE WORD----AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coccinelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coccinelle
Save
You added Coccinelle to your Saves list
Ranked #88 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ONE WORD----AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

After spending a day/nite sightseeing or on Bourbon Street, it was nice to come home to the tranquility of Coccinelle. Definately a diamond in the rough! Reg and Ron were fantastic hosts! They make you feel right at home. Breakfasts were 5 star quality! The rooms were awesome....and the Courtyard extremely useful for unwinding after a day of sightseeing....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

The proprietors welcome you into their home and you feel that it is genuine. There are only two rooms, so you are not just another guest passing through. Yet, they are professionals at repecting boundaries. The location is perfect for exploring the French Q. and the Marigny. You get to live in a historic, typical NOLA dwelling. Like jazz? You are feet from Frenchman's Street which holds the highest concentration of clubs in town. Great, professionally prepared breakfasts. All in all, a terrific place to stay and lovely hosts.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cirrus763c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Wonderful bed and breakfast! Really one of the best I have stayed in! Ron and Reg are remarkable, and like everyone has said, it feels like you are visiting friends! The breakfast is delicious, their hospitality overall is astounding. The location is absolutely perfect as well. I highly recommend staying at this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmiles136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

I was unsure about staying at a B&B but if they are anything like the Coccinelle, I would stay in them at a heartbeat! Reg and Ron are wonderful hosts who went the extra mile to make our stay in New Orleans very enjoyable. We told our family and friends all about Reg's scrumptious breakfast and they were very impressed. We were also given yummy homemade cookies, (this was an unexpected treat!!) and fresh filtered water daily. Alex had his birthday while we were there, and Reg and Ron invited us over for a drink that evening to celebrate it. I thought it was really lovely of them to do that. Their local knowlege was invaluable and they had great suggestions about where to eat, what to see etc. The location was ideal as it was just around the corner from Frenchman St and walking distance to Bourbon St..Guys, thank you for making our holiday in New Orleans a great one! Hope to see you in Cairo! Athena & Alex

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

In a way, I came across Coccinelle by accident when looking for a B&B to stay in for a recent trip to New Orleans. Most of the other B&B's I'd found first were booked due to a conference in town. Maybe this was because they were better known or slightly less expensive? But whatever the case was, I'm so glad we found Coccinelle because it was a fantastic place to stay.

Reggie and Ron were extremely welcoming, friendly and accomodating throughout our entire trip. We arrived late (11:30pm), called when we had arrived, and Reggie surprised us by popping out of a tiny door that is the main entrance, somewhat disguised. Inside, the place opened up to the main house/kitchen, a beautiful courtyard, and the guest house in the back. We stayed in the downstairs (Jeremiah) room, which was much nicer than the photos had lead us to believe. It was very comfortable, with space for a couple of suitcases, bathrobes and hairdryer provided (my wife had brought hers but liked theirs better), and filtered water and home-baked cookies to welcome us!

The location is amazing. After we arrived, we walked literally around the corner to the new, hip Frenchman Street, and found our way into DBA, a great bar with a million beers, and the Grammy nominated Lost Bayou Ramblers (http://www.lostbayouramblers.com) were playing a magical kind of fiddle zydeco to a packed house that wouldn't stop dancing. Baptism by fire, I tell you; it was an awesome way to kick off our trip. And had we not stayed at Coccinelle, on the corner of the Marigny across from the French Quarter, we would have missed out.

That said, the drawback to being so close is that sometimes it can get loud at night. Usually not for long, but we passed out early on Saturday night, and were awakened a couple times by a brass band marching around the block. But as it was a charming and uniquely New Orleans disturbance, we didn't mind at all.

Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 10, and is a big, delicious meal, usually starting with coffee and fruit and followed by some magnificent home-cooked creation. One day it was a savory fritatta and another it was a tremendous dutch baby pancake filled with sweet and spicy apples and served with sausages on the side. Come hungry.

Reggie and Ron are great with suggestions for what to do, see and eat, as well. And the jacuzzi tub is a perfect remedy for a long day of exploring the quarter!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ne0g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We stayed at Coccinelle during pre-Mardis Gras for our 10th Anniversary. Location was fanatistic. Can walk to everything in the quarter and to the lake. Food was out of this world and host sprovided great company and conversation. Room was cozy and comfortable stayed 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank younglaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

The Coccinelle is a wonderful place to stay! It is ON a corner of the French Quarter, near jazz clubs, great restaurants, all things New Orleans within walking distance, or a short cab ride. The owners are helpful with suggestions of local restaurants, and attractions. The breakfasts are amazing and tailored to your likes! There are only 2 rooms, so you really feel like you are visting friends, and once you are there- you will be! Only one requirement- you MUST like dogs. They have two adorable dogs, (Ernie and Sophie) that made my trip even more enjoyable.
I have recommended it to many people. My husband and I have stayed there a few times, and hope to return in the Spring.

  • Liked — The owners!
  • Disliked — Leaving!!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PomMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel de la Monnaie
Hotel de la Monnaie
#115 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,988 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Frenchmen Orleans at 519
Frenchmen Orleans at 519
#17 of 29 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coccinelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coccinelle

Property: Coccinelle
Address: 2119 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2012
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing