We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“INCREDIBLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Lagniappe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de Lagniappe
Save
You added Maison de Lagniappe to your Saves list
Ranked #65 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place was nothing short of amazing. My husband and I spent our honeymoon there and it could not have been more perfect. The rooms and beds were VERY comfortable, and the house was full of amazing antiques. There was a deck where we spent some time with a few other guests, a hot tub for your use, and a beautiful garden for some tranquil moments after the craziness of Bourbon Street! The B&B is one block away from the Quarter and about a 5 minute walk to the heart of Bourbon. Frenchman Street is also about a 5 minute walk, and there are some places in the Marigny that you don't to miss that are also just a couple blocks away. The three dachshunds that ruled the house were sweet little ladies as well. Don and Harry had the southern hospitality thing DOWN - you simultaneously felt like honored guests and part of the family. Next time we go to NOLA there's no question, we'll stay there. Nothing will ever come close.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
san jose ca usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

There is a lot to like here. You can walk to Frenchman street every night to listen to music. You are also an easy walk to the Quarter plus you are on a quiet street. Rooms are large and spacious. Nice garden in the back to lounge in. Breakfast is standard continental but having a refrigerator at your use is nice. Don and Harry were gone when we stayed so we are sorry we missed their personal touch though we were looked after well. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops and places to drink, all near by, Take the rebirth bike ride through the 9th ward which is also local.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocofoodSanJoseCaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a beautiful place to stay during our trip in NOLA. Don and Harry were the perfect hosts. All visitors are treated like kings and queens. We felt immediately like part of the family and they really spoiled our little daughter. Don and Harry really like what they're doing and you can see that in the way they manage their hotel. Service is great, breakfast is great and if you have any questions about NOLA, they'll have the answer. Because of the Jazz Fest the hotels were really booked and we could only stay at the Maison Lagniappe for 3 nights of our 5 night stay. Oh how we wish we could have stayed longer! One of the best values for money ever.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaomika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
386 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We brought our 16 year old son to New Orleans to enjoy good food & explore the WW2 museum. Normally with our four kids we can't do the B&B thing, but since the younger ones were at camp, we wanted to experience a unique venue. Maison is a great fit, with a great host, Don, who is friendly & knowledgeable. The location is excellent, as it's a very short walk to the French Quarter, yet quiet. We didn't realize that Nola was within walking distance on our first night, and spent needless time & $ trying to find parking in the French Quarter...big hassle. There are several room options. We chose suite 5, which can accommodate up to 5 people since it has two divided bedrooms, one with a day bed, and a nice roomy living area suite with a couch, table with two chairs, sink, and flat screen TV. The bathroom is small with no counter space, but features a jet tub. The inner courtyard and garden is a delight, with a whimsical décor. We ate our first breakfast outside. The continental breakfast is simple, with a variety of breads, cereal and fruit, plus a featured homemade coffeecake each day. Saturday also had Italian quiche, and Sunday featured homemade biscuits & strawberry jam. There is a fancy coffeemaker with a variety of coffees which other guests enjoyed. Parking is limited, and you must reserve a permit in advance. We walked to the WW2 museum and enjoyed our strolls through the French quarter for that and dinner our 2nd night (GW Fins, which has fantastic seafood). The price was very reasonable, and we slept well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our family stayed at this B&B during a recent trip to New Orleans at the recommendation of friends. The accomodations are excellent; owners are most helpful and gracious, and the location is very convenient for visiting New Orleans. Being from the upper midwest, we now understand what southern hospitality is all about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really, it's wonderful to be made so welcome.

The house is the essence of quirkiness, wall to wall antiques and bric-à-brac with a New Orleans focus, and it feels like home - because it is home: Don's and Harry's (and the girls'), which they open up to their house guests with undisguised pride and generosity. Whether you make your bed or not is your own business. Harry will certainly provide you with his own delicious fresh scones or banana bread for breakfast which you can have at 7 in the morning or 10 at night in the regal dining room or on the deck overlooking the lush garden. Coffee and tea are available round the clock. Help youself. And there is a fridge in the room.

The location is ideal: safe walking distance to the French Quarter and, even nearer, to Frenchmen Street. And as a woman travelling alone, safe is important. The proximity to Frenchmen Street is a huge bonus as that is where the music really plays - what Bourbon Street used to be before it succumbed to booze and tat: great music at d.b.a. and the cluster of live music venues round about.

Don and Harry know their Nola so take their advice. Here are a few things I loved: The New Orleans Museum of Art with the wonderful adjacent Sculpture Garden and the Café Noma to finish off. Free admission on Wedesdays. Wandering through the streets and around the cemeteries, especially St. Louis No. 1 on Basin Street, and the Garden District. Riding the Canal Street and St. Charles streetcars and the Canal Street Ferry. Taking in street jazz near the cathedral. The one-day plantation/swamp tour recommended by Harry, not cheap but worth the money. Alligators galore.

New Orleans is not exactly round the corner from the UK, but I would return at the slightest opportunity and definitely head for the Maison de Lagniappe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

You have to see it to believe it. Our heads exploded with glee upon arrival!! Amazing hosts, atmosphere, rooms, everything. And cute dogs. Short walking distance to French Quarter which was perfect for a trip during Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandarchandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,144 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#28 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,005 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Lagniappe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Lagniappe

Property: Maison de Lagniappe
Address: 1021 Kerlerec St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1905
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Maison De Lagniappe Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing