We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de Lagniappe
Ranked #73 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was looking for something near the French Qtr that would be within reasonable walking distance to the Convention Ctr where I was attending a conference. I wanted quaint, authentic, eclectic and convenient. This was perfect! Not only was it 40 mins to the Convention Ctr on foot, I could walk 10 mins and take the waterfront trolley to the Convention Ctr or get on and off in the French Qtr along the way. We stayed in Room 3 which was quiet and next to the kitchen and breakfast :) The breakfasts were available in time for me to leave at 7AM and suffice it to say I needed to walk! We walked to and from the French Qtr each night where we ate dinner. We loved sitting on the balcony among the lush garden vegetation surrounding the house. It was also a convenient place to hop on and off to I-10 allowing us to explore the area's bayou's around New Orleans. Harry and Don, the owners were very kind, gracious and welcoming hosts. Our entire stay was made even more pleasurable by the three curious dachshunds that greeted us as we came and went.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretCS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Why is Maison de Lagniappe the best? Not only was our room (Garden Room) cozy and the daily breakfasts very good, but the location is PERFECT. Being able to walk to both the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street is a huge plus. Granted, my wife and I drove to New Orleans, but we didn't need our car for anything once there.

A few words about walking New Orleans: We had some nervousness over whether it would be safe to hoof it at night, but it turned out to be just fine. Coming back from the Quarter, we stuck to Bourbon and/or Royal all the way over to Esplanade, and then up to Burgundy and Kerlerec. I'd agree with the advice to stay between Bourbon and the river at night. Royal, especially, was quiet. We never felt unsafe.

Harry was such a gracious host and we enjoyed visiting with him about the history of the city and his B&B. (Don was away on a cruise during our stay.) He made sure we had everything we needed, and his expansive collection of travel literature and restaurant menus helped us, too.

We enjoyed the collection of quirky art, and the inside of the home was beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were delicious, too. The garden was so pretty and green, and it provided great scenery when we had our breakfast outside.

Our room, the Garden Room, may feel a bit small to others, but we thought it was fine. The bed was comfortable and hardly any noise to speak of.

When we return to New Orleans, we are definitely staying here again. It is such a gem.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is nice and quiet, being it's at ground level and away from the rest of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank govikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked into Maison de Lagniappe on Valentines Day for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found more than just a place to stay but a new and interesting experience. The house is filled with antiques and art, a lush courtyard, and two wonderful hosts in Harry and Don. We laughed at Harry's stories and looked forward to Don's morning breakfasts. Many of our memorable experiences on this trip came from hanging out mornings drinking coffee on the deck overlooking the courtyard conversing with the other guests.

We always try to find places to stay that are unique and as much fun to visit as any tourist attraction and were delighted to find Maison de Lagniappe to be such a place. A highlight of our trip was spending one afternoon playing cards in the courtyard with the three house dachshunds and a macaw keeping us company. And having a small refrigerator in our room made it possible to enjoy hanging out with a supply of cold beer!

We have definitely found a new place to stay when visiting New Orleans and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike3889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What else can I say but that I absolutely LOVED this place! I had never stayed at a B&B, so I was a little skeptical, but as soon as me and my husband arrived, any doubt that we had just disappeared! Don and Harry our hosts were great, and made us feel totally welcomed. It was as if we were at home. The location was perfect, with the French Quarter being right around the corner. We walked to everything and never felt unsafe. We will deffinitely be back. Give this place a try! You will not be disappointed! Thanks for a wonderful time Don and Harry!

Lisa & Mike Ferry Gulf Shores, Alabama

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. The first was a few years ago in one of the suites which was very comfortable and had a living room area. This time we were in a room just off the kitchen and it was so nice in the morning to smell whatever pastry of the day was being made! Make sure you make use of the hot tub and enjoy breakfast out on the deck with the lush greenery that really makes this gem the perfect place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azdcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for MLK weekend. Just off Esplanade, it's a easy walk to the Quarter and Frenchman St. I have never stayed in a B&B before, but this place has changed my mind. The hosts are super friendly and knowledgeable. They have thought of everything as the kitchen is stocked with everything you could ask for. Every morning pastries, fresh fruit, coffee & tea, and best of all an awsome deck to enjoy it on. The rooms are exactly as depicted, our bathroom was more than adequate, and there was even a refridgerator in the room. If your using these reviews to pick a place to stay, STOP, you've found it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast with my children, ages 14 and 18. They have traveled with us frequently but we were tentative about how they would feel about a B&B. Nevertheless, one of our goals was to introduce them to a new experience. We also wanted more room for them to spread out rather than being confined to another hotel room. It was worth a try we decided. What a great decision!

There are tons of places to stay in the area but you will never experience anything like this in a hotel. You can read in other posts all about the amenities of the home and the comfort of the suites. It's all very accurate. The location is good and the suites offer more space than the average hotel.

Harry, our host was incredible. Great recommendations on dining, tours, transportation, sites, etc. ...he never failed to deliver. Wonderful story teller. My kids and wife loved his stories and were amazed at his vast knowledge of the area. Harry made us feel SO welcome and comfortable during our stay that it was hard to say goodbye at the end of the week.

We will recommend Mansion de Lagniappe to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Suites 1,2 and 5 are best if you want extra room to spread out a bit. All have private access in of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Madame Isabelle's House In New Orleans
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#7 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#52 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#70 of 138 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Lagniappe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Lagniappe

Property: Maison de Lagniappe
Address: 1021 Kerlerec St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1905
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Maison De Lagniappe Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing