We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison de Lagniappe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de Lagniappe
Ranked #68 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked into Maison de Lagniappe on Valentines Day for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found more than just a place to stay but a new and interesting experience. The house is filled with antiques and art, a lush courtyard, and two wonderful hosts in Harry and Don. We laughed at Harry's stories and looked forward to Don's morning breakfasts. Many of our memorable experiences on this trip came from hanging out mornings drinking coffee on the deck overlooking the courtyard conversing with the other guests.

We always try to find places to stay that are unique and as much fun to visit as any tourist attraction and were delighted to find Maison de Lagniappe to be such a place. A highlight of our trip was spending one afternoon playing cards in the courtyard with the three house dachshunds and a macaw keeping us company. And having a small refrigerator in our room made it possible to enjoy hanging out with a supply of cold beer!

We have definitely found a new place to stay when visiting New Orleans and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike3889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What else can I say but that I absolutely LOVED this place! I had never stayed at a B&B, so I was a little skeptical, but as soon as me and my husband arrived, any doubt that we had just disappeared! Don and Harry our hosts were great, and made us feel totally welcomed. It was as if we were at home. The location was perfect, with the French Quarter being right around the corner. We walked to everything and never felt unsafe. We will deffinitely be back. Give this place a try! You will not be disappointed! Thanks for a wonderful time Don and Harry!

Lisa & Mike Ferry Gulf Shores, Alabama

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. The first was a few years ago in one of the suites which was very comfortable and had a living room area. This time we were in a room just off the kitchen and it was so nice in the morning to smell whatever pastry of the day was being made! Make sure you make use of the hot tub and enjoy breakfast out on the deck with the lush greenery that really makes this gem the perfect place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azdcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for MLK weekend. Just off Esplanade, it's a easy walk to the Quarter and Frenchman St. I have never stayed in a B&B before, but this place has changed my mind. The hosts are super friendly and knowledgeable. They have thought of everything as the kitchen is stocked with everything you could ask for. Every morning pastries, fresh fruit, coffee & tea, and best of all an awsome deck to enjoy it on. The rooms are exactly as depicted, our bathroom was more than adequate, and there was even a refridgerator in the room. If your using these reviews to pick a place to stay, STOP, you've found it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast with my children, ages 14 and 18. They have traveled with us frequently but we were tentative about how they would feel about a B&B. Nevertheless, one of our goals was to introduce them to a new experience. We also wanted more room for them to spread out rather than being confined to another hotel room. It was worth a try we decided. What a great decision!

There are tons of places to stay in the area but you will never experience anything like this in a hotel. You can read in other posts all about the amenities of the home and the comfort of the suites. It's all very accurate. The location is good and the suites offer more space than the average hotel.

Harry, our host was incredible. Great recommendations on dining, tours, transportation, sites, etc. ...he never failed to deliver. Wonderful story teller. My kids and wife loved his stories and were amazed at his vast knowledge of the area. Harry made us feel SO welcome and comfortable during our stay that it was hard to say goodbye at the end of the week.

We will recommend Mansion de Lagniappe to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Suites 1,2 and 5 are best if you want extra room to spread out a bit. All have private access in of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and son. The best thing was not paying for parking as don and Harry let us use their pass. The rooms were very large and because another guest had decided to stay an extra night, we were moved into the large suite (#5 I believe). Overall a great visit

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aundizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I found this small bnb (six rooms)here and in VRBO. The comments were good, price seemed right($125/nite,total) so we booked. We arrived in early evening and both our hosts Harry and Don helped us unload our luggage and introduced us to Suite 1, one of the two front suites on main floor. It was very nice with lots of antiques, QB, dresser, nightstands, a living room window ac, and small flat screen. Don left on vacation that evening or next morning, but Harry took care of us and answered all our questions. Both of our hosts professional guides and work for several tour companies. There is so much stuff everywhere, it can appear a little cluttered, but that was part of the charm. The kitchen had all we needed and there were several continental breakfast items each morning. There was also bags of chips during day as well as fruit, ice and water. He even had sodas in frig for $1.

The backyard has a nice shaded porch, a spa, a big bird (parrot?) and 3 weiner dogs!!! It is like a rain forest back there with tons of plants and privacy. It is located on Kerlerec, one block past Esplanade just a block or two from Port of Call, Buffa's and a small grocery, It was only about 3or 4 blocks from Frenchman St but would recommend cab in the late hours. We walked to the French Quarter everyday and sometimes twice. From there to the other end at Canal St is a good walk. Our temps were in the 70's-80's so we lucked out since we aren't used to humidity.
We got lost almost everytime we went to Frenchmans as the streets run at angles and our street didn't go thru one block. But we always found our way.

The bathroom was a little tight w/o much storage, but we had a big dresser and 2 nitestands in bedroom. Out our back door was the dining room which wasn't used, then the kitchen, where were everyday. I would recommend this bnb to anyone who wants to be near the quarter and doesn't mind walking, although, again, I wouldn't walk so much on Frenchman St to ours late at night although we saw no trouble. Just a little deserted as it is a working neighborhood. We did have iron gate and deadbolts and all of the others staying there were women.

Room Tip: We liked the extra room and sitting area in Suite 1 and could look out onto the street if we wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Madame Isabelle's House In New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Rathbone Mansions
Rathbone Mansions
#47 of 140 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#25 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Lagniappe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Lagniappe

Property: Maison de Lagniappe
Address: 1021 Kerlerec Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Maison De Lagniappe Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing