We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful way to see more of NOLA”
Review of Tours by Isabelle

Tours by Isabelle
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: locally owned and family run New Orleans tour company,first class, small scale, personalized service since 1979. Experienced and knowledgeable Driver-Guides on board comfortable, top of the line 13 passenger vans enthusiastically will make you fall in love with Louisiana!
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see more of NOLA”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to Oak Alley and Laura plantations. They were wonderful as was our driver Ellen. We even had a great Louisiana lunch at Oak Alley! The highlight of the tour was the swamp tour with Roland Torres. His family has lived on the property for five generations and he was so full of information. I would highly recommend this all day tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank purkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,043
    191
    42
    21
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Flawless Tour....Swamps and Plantations”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was an ideal tour from beginning to end. We were picked up promptly at our French Quarter Hotel by our driver/guide Joseph, who proved to be amiable and quite informative. After a drive slightly in excess of an hour, we arrived at the site of our Swamp Tour, which was made extremely enjoyable by our guide, Mr. Roland Torres. He was so knowledgable and engaging that I suspect tI would have enjoyed the ninety minutes we were together as much if the time had been spent on his front porch, rather than out on his boat. The swamp is truly "another world", and such a fascinating departure from anything that I'd ever been exposed to. Our visits to two nearby plantations, Oak Alley and Laura, were also unique experiences for a Northerner. Though different in many ways, both plantations offered excellent one hour (or less) tours that were extremely interesting. Though I had not looked forward to
the buffet-style lunch being offered at Oak Alley, I ended up enjoying their offerings very much. We were returned to our hotels exactly one hour after the conclusion of the second plantation visit, precisely as we'd been assured we would be. I truly cannot recall any aspect of this tour that was worthy of negative criticism...it was an ideal way to spend the day, and I would recommend the Tours By Isabelle Swamp/Plantation tour to anyone trying to decide how to spend a day "out of town" when visiting New Orleans.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mapmaster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
“Great way to spend a day”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dylan was our host for the full day airboat and plantation tour originating in NOLA. He was a font of interesting information while driving us to and from the 3 sites outside of New Orleans, setting the stage for what was to come and filling in more info on what we had seen. Gary, the airboat driver, was a skilled captain, engaging character and finder of elusive gators. The included lunch was nicely laid out and covered the local fare quite tastily. Both plantation guides did a fine job of interpreting their respective properties. This was a day well spent. We highly recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Friendly Louisiana Hospitality”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Well organised and friendly tour. Joseph our guide was a gracious host, nothing was too much trouble. The highlight was the swamp tour. Roland Torres did a great job. We had upgraded to the airboat adventure, but it was not available on the day. Roland was a silver lining, we definitely did not miss out on anything.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kazagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gracious guide, wonderful tour”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide was Virginia (Ginnie) and she provided a comprehensive and very interesting overview of New Orleans history, culture, recent events with Katrina, and the specifics of the plantation homes we visited.
Could not fault this tour. We visited San Fransisco and Houmas homes. Really worth a visit - we would do another tour if we had time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yournavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours by Isabelle also viewed

 

Been to Tours by Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing