We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location with a wonderful host, ideal...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location with a wonderful host, ideal for short or long stays (especially Mardi Gras)”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Felicity Street is ideally located in the Garden District, with plenty of local restaurants, shops and easy access to public transport, including the St Charles streetcar (i.e. tram) making it easy to get into the lively French Quarter.

My wife and I stayed there for 15 nights, leaving a couple of days after Mardi Gras. The house was an oasis of calm amid the frenzy of Mardi Gras. It is less than 5 minutes walk from St Charles Avenue and most of the big Mardi Gras parades travel down St Charles making the house a great location for Mardi Gras season.

The house itself is very much old-style but very comfortable and with a modern kitchen. We stayed in the master bedroom, which has an en-suite with double shower. Other guests stayed in rooms without en-suites and used a shared bathroom. Everyone has shared access to the kitchen, lounge, etc. We weren't quite expecting that (I guess we didn't read the description closely enough) but it worked really well.

Our host, Don, was fabulous. He lives at the house himself and routinely had coffee ready early in the morning. He is also full of tips and advice - anything from how to travel around, restaurants, shops, good choices of excursions and everything you need to know about Mardi Gras. In particular, he helped us avoid the usual tourist traps and quickly find our way to the real New Orleans where the locals go to party, notably Frenchman Street with its jazz clubs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
It was a pleasure to witness Ian and Judith take in New Orleans like no other, for 15 non-stop nights of activities, it was a joy to know that our guest were having good times day after day, and night after night. We would love to host you in our home in the future. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuneGulf
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location is fabulous! Full of Old World Charm!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Felicity Street is blocks away from the St. Charles Streetcar and a block away from all of the funky fun shops and restaurants on Magazine St. The house is old-world style with modern conveniences. I stayed in the Master Bedroom - loved it. One caution - that spectacular staircase is steep, it could be a challenge for some, especially after a party. Don, my host was great, gave good tips on the area. A lovely and fun stay! Will visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homelessx...
No set address
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“8 nights in a lovely room with a most excellent host!”
Reviewed December 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Captains Quarter - the only room en suite. The other rooms have a bathroom, just down the hall. But, being older, for us, it was perfect to have our room with the bathroom attached to our bedroom. The bed was great, the bathroom new and shiny, and the room was a visual pleasure.

Many things made this a memorable place to stay. As you can see by the photos, it is a lovely home, lovingly restored by Don and Andrea. One of my great pleasures was to arise early in the morning in the quiet, come downstairs and hit the coffee button to "on", grab my first cup, and carry it and my book to one of the parlor rooms. Great coffee, comfy seating, and views of stained glass windows, antique wood-glowing furniture, and windows framing the gently stirring trees outside. Mellows a girl right out.

Don was our sole host, quietly helpful and always keeping an eye out. Various other renters came and went, but we knew he was there, even when one group became a bit, well, New Orleans party-wise alcohol cheerful. He handled them with tact, but with a firm hand. So never a concern for us, just a laugh in the late next morning when they came into the kitchen looking rather hungover and hangdog.

Talking with him was such a pleasure we availed ourselves of his hospitality on numerous occasions. He is an informed man, about his city, his state, and our country and the world. And, he is a painter whose paintings hang throughout the house. You can see the progression of his interests (don't all artists move from interest to interest?). He was working on a new canvas when we were there; it was fascinating to see his work change daily.

The location of the house is perfect - just a short walk to numerous restaurants in the lower garden district. And, you can walk the few blocks to the trolley and ride to wherever you need to be, be it the art museum, a cemetery tour, or the French Quarter. Then, in the evening, head back to Felicity Street for a night of quiet.

Kudos to Don and Andrea for being willing to share their lovely home!

The kitchen was ours, if we wished, and there was room in the frig for our restaurant take-homes (though you did have to watch the other guests who could get the NOLA munchies late in the evening).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Dorn...
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great location and hosts”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great location in a quiet part of the city. Close to the Streetcar which gives easy access to the French Quarter. Andrea and Don are fab hosts of the house and Don made freshly brewed delicious coffee each morning he was there. It was not clear when booking that others stayed in the house but that was not an issue to us. Likewise the 'secure parking' is in fact street parking. Again that is not an issue as it is a quiet and safe neighbourhood. The house is old but renovated to a high standard and we really loved staying there. We have no hesitancy in recommending this as a great place to stay. Andrea was very helpful in providing recommendations for our itinerary and responded very promptly to any questions.

Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi-Fi was a little patchy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Our host made the most of their stay in New Orleans, it was nice to see them enjoy our city, and we hope they come back to visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing