We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic people”
Review of Casa de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Mar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Sunzal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great staff. Loved Kroco, Cecelia, Deily, John and Blanca. Without being asked, Kroco carried my daughter down to the beach for me a couple of times because I was not used to walking on the rocks and was a little shaky. Beautiful views. Perfect location for surfers. Good food especially when you ask them to just bring down items from Cafe Sunzal. The beach is nonexistent for a good part of the day due to high tide but you can walk 5 minutes along the rocks to get to another beach during those times. There is AC but it is not very powerful but it is sufficient. The only problems I think have to be changed are for safety. The railings are not sufficient at all to hold back a little kid. Call them and let them know if you are traveling with little ones so you can get a first floor room. The new casitas do seem to have better railings going in. The other problem, the deck around the pool needs to be sanded and painted or replaced. My child and another got splinters from running around on it while we were there. Bring pool shoes for the kids until they get this fixed. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank KDB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved loved loved our stay at Casa de Mar. we found the staff amazing, the rooms big, spacious and super comfortable...the weather didn't cooperate as best at it could but everything else. we also really enjoyed the food. Both of us (me and my love) are big foodies and enjoyed the grub... and also the tasty margaritas... can't wait to be back soon!

Room Tip: pic the second floor rooms for a good ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Awesome place ! Went with 3 friends on a surf trip! Well worth the extra money. Super safe and secure! David was awesome and Cocoa took care or anything we asked! The restaurant next door was absolutely incredible. The view of Sunzal point break was directly out back. Private beach and gate to come and go from the ocean surfing!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotrod83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I am a native from El Salvador, my wife and I fly back home twice a year and this place is the nicest, most private property we have stayed in. 90% of the guests are foreingners, the rooms are spacious. Casa De Mar is on the expensive side compared to everything near by, but it's worth every penny. If you live to surf and want a nice secure, private place this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

i have travelled and surfed all over central america. this spring i took a trip to sunzal with my surf crew (old guys in their fifties) and we stayed at the casa de mar. i've got nothing but love for the place. great surf, impeccable and friendly service, best locatation ever, and close to the fun town of el tunco. i'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: get one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magillaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to spend the weekend with our girls and we found this Hotel that caught us from the start. Quit place, not so many people, few rooms. The staff is really nice and all the rooms, no matter how far you are, have an ocean view. Rooms are clean, huge, have space, comfy, everything is perfect. The deck they have in the second floor, is just incredible at night. I recommend this hotel for a couple getaway or a family trip. Its very close to the city, like 30 min and has great food. Helpful tip: Stay within the hotel's beach area. The beach beside the hotel is public and you can see things you don't want your kids to see. The restaurant has great food and if Its wonderful the breakfast was really healthy and it was included in the price. At the beginning we thought it was kind of expensive but then we realized it is worth it. The pool is very clean and nice, the beach has a lot of stones and if the high tide you cant have access to it. A downside its the rocky beach they have, you have to walk carefully and carry your little ones because there are a lot of them in the entire way to the water. Other than that everything is wonderful, you only see foreign people trying to relax. Since they don't have too many rooms, there is a lot of privacy and is never too crowded. We really loved it!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Klaw N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I married on 9 May 2009, and stayed at the Casa de Mar Hotel. We were able to enjoy friends and family at the event and after. The hotel and Cafe Sunzal staff were extremely helpful before, during and after the wedding. This hotel has remained our favorite

We are returning 09 May 13.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martiflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Sunzal
1 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
88 reviews
22.1 mi away
Rancho Estero y Mar
Rancho Estero y Mar
#2 of 2 in San Luis Talpa
232 reviews
17.2 mi away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mar

Address: KM. 43 Carretera del Litoral | La Libertad, El Sunzal, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > El Sunzal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Sunzal
Price Range: $151 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded among the rocks overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Casa de Mar provides the ultimate getaway for those seeking a first class escape for a surfing trip, anniversary or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Mar Hotel El Sunzal
Casa De Mar El Sunzal
Casa De Mar El Salvador/El Sunzal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing