We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surfer's paradise”
Review of Casa de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Mar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Sunzal
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surfer's paradise”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

i have travelled and surfed all over central america. this spring i took a trip to sunzal with my surf crew (old guys in their fifties) and we stayed at the casa de mar. i've got nothing but love for the place. great surf, impeccable and friendly service, best locatation ever, and close to the fun town of el tunco. i'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: get one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magillaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
54
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were looking for a nice place to spend the weekend with our girls and we found this Hotel that caught us from the start. Quit place, not so many people, few rooms. The staff is really nice and all the rooms, no matter how far you are, have an ocean view. Rooms are clean, huge, have space, comfy, everything is perfect. The deck they have in the second floor, is just incredible at night. I recommend this hotel for a couple getaway or a family trip. Its very close to the city, like 30 min and has great food. Helpful tip: Stay within the hotel's beach area. The beach beside the hotel is public and you can see things you don't want your kids to see. The restaurant has great food and if Its wonderful the breakfast was really healthy and it was included in the price. At the beginning we thought it was kind of expensive but then we realized it is worth it. The pool is very clean and nice, the beach has a lot of stones and if the high tide you cant have access to it. A downside its the rocky beach they have, you have to walk carefully and carry your little ones because there are a lot of them in the entire way to the water. Other than that everything is wonderful, you only see foreign people trying to relax. Since they don't have too many rooms, there is a lot of privacy and is never too crowded. We really loved it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klaw N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I married on 9 May 2009, and stayed at the Casa de Mar Hotel. We were able to enjoy friends and family at the event and after. The hotel and Cafe Sunzal staff were extremely helpful before, during and after the wedding. This hotel has remained our favorite

We are returning 09 May 13.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martiflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of days ago (27th and 28th of march 2013) for two nights, I was very impressed by the nice service, the room itself (number 7) was just lovely. Quiet at night. It has a great view of the garden the pool, the deck and the ocean with surfers in it.

The room was very clean. It had a nice TV, cable and a DVD. The shower is great, breakfast as well. I really recommend this hotel for couples, singles, big families, etc.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalifangmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived here by accident. We booked this on the day of arrival when reservations went wrong with another hotel. It was a little pricey and more than we usually pay but worth every cent in the end. The 2 unit buildings with one room on top and one at floor level are set on a cliff like hill and far away from the street. Such a quiet, peaceful place, lovely gardens, large pool with chairs and towels supplied right on the ocean.

From our #5 top floor room we could see both the pool and the ocean. Large room with great bathroom that had lots of storage, a sitting room, large TV with cable, purified water supplied every day and any other thing you can think of...and of course the private, well equipped balcony with the view.

We enjoyed the excellent breakfasts and walked 5 minutes along the beach to El Tunco village where there were many food options as well. We did have a few dinners and lunch at the hotel and the seafood and pizzas were good.

We are not surfers but my husband does enjoy the beach but found it to be very rocky (in fact several surfers got injured on the rocks) and very jagged so not like you can go for long walks. Also, the jagged beach does not allow you to really see the sunset from the hotel unless you climb to the restaurant. The sunrise, on the other hand is easy to see, and quite stunning from the pool area right at the hotel.

Staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. We would definitely return to stay if returning to El Tunco.

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor with a balcony such as #5 or #7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Tremendous week long experience doing Yoga with Heidi Xethalis from Strala in NYC and one of the most beautiful surfing spots aI have ever seen.

Casa De Mar is 1) located on one of the best surfing points in El Salvador 2) is only five years old, 3) has a great staff and 4) the accommodations are top notch.

I highly recommend it!

Carlos

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here a night with my family. The rooms are gorgeous with an excellent view of the ocean. My kids loved the pool and boogey boarding on the beach. Walking down the beach during the day and exploring El Tunco is also a great experience. At night we walked up to Restaurante Sunzal and had a wonderful meal on cliffs above the ocean. You don't have to be a surfer to easily enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Sunzal
0.9 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
194 reviews
1.9 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Rancho Estero y Mar
Rancho Estero y Mar
#2 of 2 in San Luis Talpa
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#10 of 21 in La Libertad
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
B Boutique Hotel
B Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in El Sunzal
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mar

Property: Casa de Mar
Address: KM. 43 Carretera del Litoral | La Libertad, El Sunzal, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > El Sunzal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in El Sunzal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded among the rocks overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Casa de Mar provides the ultimate getaway for those seeking a first class escape for a surfing trip, anniversary or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Mar Hotel El Sunzal
Casa De Mar El Sunzal
Casa De Mar El Salvador/El Sunzal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing