We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Costa Rican Dream”
Review of Treetops B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 San Juanillo B&B and Inns
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Costa Rican Dream”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

As I held my freshly pureed mango margarita in my hand, I looked out over the expansive view of San Juanillo beach and the orange sun dripping into the ocean. The experience of being at Tree Tops feels like a dream, but at the same time it also feels like you are being welcomed home.
*THE HOSTS- Jack and Karen will make you feel like family from the moment you step onto their open air treehouse. They will set up a table under the stars, both seats facing out to sea, and they will make you feel so comfortable that you will want to enjoy your dessert with them, talking over hot coffee and moist banana upside down cake.
*THE FOOD- With a view like this, it is hard to believe that the food can surpass the beauty of your surroundings. However, Karen's cooking will delight you with fresh flavors, quality ingredients, and exquisite care and attention to detail. The bruschetta drizzled perfectly wtih olive oil and the seafood chowder were perfect starts to our meal. Then came the salad. Everything Karen does is special and unique, and this includes the salad. Goat cheese, pine nuts and warm cabbage melt together in a perfect belnd of warm and cool. The main dish was seared fish with a rich sherry cream sauce over special rice. We barely had room for the banana cake, and Jack and Karen sent us home with the rest of the cake for leftovers! The price, around $40 a perspon for the set menu, is much lower than any other five course meal we have ever ordered. And this meal includes your private chef and private terrace.

Don't miss this meal in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wavechasers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
15
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
welle
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Tree Tops is a wonderful place, it is like paradise on earth. The people, the place,… everything was amazing! We were on our honeymoon and stayed 3 nights in Tree tops (the package they offer). We really enjoyed our stay there. We arrived the first day and could immediately enjoy the first 5 course dinner Karen made for us, delicious! The second day after breakfast we went for ‘the swimming with turtles’. For us this was not a very nice experience because we were dropped in a pile of jellyfish, so we only stayed in the water for a few seconds. We did see turtles though . Afterwards we could laugh with it and Jack and Karen, and even the fisher guy were really helpful! The second day we did the horseback riding and that was a lot of fun! Our guide took us for a trip through a river, sometimes really deep so again we made a lot of fun. In between those trips we really enjoyed relaxing in our ‘private’ saloon, walking on the beach and just being there. For us the best moment was on our last evening. We enjoyed a really beautiful and romantic sunset while eating the appetizers of Karen. After the sunset we enjoyed the rest of our dinner on the terrace, really wonderful. So thanks Jack for all the help and a big thank you for Karen which is really the best chef in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellymarijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was so delighted to have the experience of dining at Treetops. The view they have from their home is gorgeous and will take your breath away. The dining and hospitality is superb. We were treated so special and with such grace. I can not say enough to compliment this amazing couple! They were meant to do this job and really enjoy their guests too. We had a wonderful conversation during our dessert and left feeling very satisfied. I would highly recommend this for anyone wishing for some fine dining and great evening. Thank you so much Karen and Jack. You will be unforgettable to us. We would love to return again soon!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichelleBabcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My friends took me to Tree Tops for my birthday dinner and it was the most amazing meal! The view from the "tree house" was breathtaking. It was really special to watch the sunset right on the beach! Karen and Jack were the best hosts and we had great conversation. They have led a very interesting life and have great stories. Karen made the most delicious meal, 5 courses of gourment 5-star restaurant-esque dishes. The cocktails were incredibly delicious as well. At the end she presented our desert (a starfish cake) with a candle, it was so cute. If you are in this area, YOU MUST GO! Make sure to call ahead so they can prepare for your visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandih21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Do not miss going to this quiet little haven. I was looking for something special for my birthday, and I really got it at Tree Tops Inn. The hosts, Jack and Karen, were sweet and attentive, and served us three incredible homecooked meals a day on our private deck in the trees. The setting was amazing, I could have sat there content staring at the sea all day! A 2 minute walk and you'd be at the waters edge. We snorkeled a reef right in front, nearby we surfed There were trails to hike to fruit orchards, heaps of monkeys, and miles of beach to walk or horseback ride. Jack even took us out on his boat and we saw hundreds of Ridley turtles and caught fish that Karen later turned into the most delicious sushi! After all the activities of the day, Jack and Karen were a delight to return home to, not to mention the spectacular sunset view and Karens pina coladas....oh heaven! We cant wait to return someday!

Room Tip: There is only one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2011

My wife and I waited 7 months after our wedding in May anticipating a relaxing Honeymoon to enjoy the "Perfect Getaway." Jack and Karen welcomed us with such gracious hospitality and an amazing setting that far exceeded our expectations. Upon our arrival to the Airport, all our anxieties about foreign travel were eased by the arrangements that our hosts had organized to ensure a smooth journey to our remote and peaceful home.

Seeing the changing landscape and conversing with our driver made the arrival even more memorable. Once we reached the grounds of TreeTops, Crystal and I knew we wouldn't want to leave. Immersed in the beautiful tropical surroundings, TreeTops has a comfortable and unique ambiance where the lush forest and the majestic Pacific blend together. From our first introduction, it was obvious that Jack and Karen go to great lengths to make their guests feel welcomed. No agendas, no schedules, plan the excursions and drinks/meals as you please: This made our stay so relaxing and self improvised--Just what we wanted.
The December weather was perfect, and the sunsets were gorgeous. We loved the Ocean snorkeling and sunbathing in the clear lagoon, and the secluded beach provided spectacular scenery for photos and long walks beside the crashing waves.
We spotted whales, porpoise and countless sea turtles on our ocean tours, and Jack proved to be a worthy SeaCaptain and guide when the wind challenged our fishing expeditions.
Karen is an Amazing chef, who prepares food with such care and passion that it shows in her wonderful creations. The cuisine was amazingly fresh, and the presentation was perfectly timed to allow an intimate setting of peaceful romance. With the gentle wind and the ocean waves and tall trees dancing in the background, you can't help but be hypnotized to the rhythm of nature. Our Zipline tour was unforgettable and exciting. Seeing the mountains, wildlife, and forest canopy suspended several hundred feet above was incredible.
Crystal and I would highly recommend this location to anyone who genuinely enjoys the scenic outdoors, cultural atmosphere, and the perfect blend of rustic beauty and luxury. For those who desire Americanized-fluffed-carpeted-thermostat--roomservice, please go to any of the countless all-inclusive tourist gathering places. Treetops is too special a gem for those who can't appreciate its rare authentic quality. My wife and I hope to make it a tradition to return , so we can discover even more of the great experiences that can be found here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCWiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I just returned home from an adventurous Christmas holiday in Costa Rica with my son and his friend.
Friends that we were visiting for New Years Eve suggested we try and get a last minute reservation at Treetops, just a couple of hours on our way down the Pacific coast. They had loved staying at Treetops, and now consider the owners friends, plus they had recently made a separate day trip there just for Karen’s delicious lunches and dinners.
Luckily for us, the only night we wanted to stay there, the 1 and only room of the B&B was available. We knew that there was only a king size bed (but a hammock on the open deck) and that we had to check out the next morning because honeymooners were arriving. We arrived after dark, and only got lost a brief time trying to find this private home. We rang the bell at the gate and the owner Jack walked up and let us in. He showed us the small basic room with a sink and changing space in the adjoining room. The shower was outside our door in an enclosed thatched area, and Jack explained its quirky water instructions. He made us cocktails of our choice, and later we were served dinner and wine on the open air deck. I heard the waves crashing during the night. The next morning I was surprised that we were up so far up in the trees with the birds, iquanas and monkeys, looking out over a beautiful small white rocky beach and the blue ocean. After a nice breakfast on the deck, we had interesting talks with Jack and Karen about their lives and the building and upkeep of TreeTops. They suggested that after we checked out of the room we stay the morning and enjoy the lovely beach. They even let us borrow snorkeling equipment. We enjoyed our lazy morning, then we headed south for our next adventure.
This was a wonderful “find” for us because we wanted each day to be something authentic and exciting. I would recommend it to people who understand that you are the only guests at a B&B, who to not demand a modern resort style room-but are willing to pay their prices, and who enjoy having the hosts cook delicious meals of your choice, and serve it to you in a gracious friendly style. You must be able to entertain yourself and enjoy the secluded nature of Costa Rica at your doorstep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juanillo
1.6 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Azul
Hotel Luna Azul
#1 of 1 in Ostional
390 reviews
15.0 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
19.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
19.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops B&B Inn

Property: Treetops B&B Inn
Address: 1 WaterFront, San Juanillo 55150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > San Juanillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Juanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Treetops B&B Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Treetops B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Tops Hotel San Juanillo
Tree Tops Bed And Breakfast Inn
Treetops B&B Inn Costa Rica/San Juanillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing