We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porter
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy, nice spot”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Comfort Inn in Porter is right off the highway, in a convenient location. The room was clean, the bed quite comfortable, and the pool warm, one of the warmest we've had in a while. The price was good and we would return when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
51
41
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight with our kids. We had a King suite and used the pull out couch in the "living room" area. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. We had plenty of space to move around. Our room was above the entrance so we could not see out our window because of the roof above the pull through. The hotel was full and a little noisy. You could also hear the noise from the street. We were a little upset since they closed the pool a few hours after we got there so we didn't get to use it and the kids really wanted to swim.
Breakfast was ok, the sausage was very spicy, they ran out of syrup, carmel sauce, yogurt and 2% milk an hour before breakfast was over. They only have styrofoam cups for the coffee but they have the nicer cups in your room next to the coffee maker. The hotel was pretty close to the lake but not very close to any restaurants, although you can find a few good ones if you look around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

It was convenient to our route home, rooms were spacious and clean. Very comfortable beds, pool a little cloudy but heated. Nice breakfast bar in the morning. Staff friendly and helpful in finding a pizza delivery.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterrvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Miriam checked us in quickly and was friendly. Very comfortable bed in a nicely furnished room. It seems this hotel has been recently refurbished as the closet had some "new" smells that I did not notice in the room, thankfully. The room and bathroom were clean. Bigger bath towels would be a welcomed feature by the guests. Free wi-fi was appreciated. This hotel sits right next to a highway so I was concerned about highway noise when we checked in but thankfully the noise did not keep me from sleeping. The breakfast was adequate to start my day. If you are in the area, it is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiB96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel went through a recent top to bottom renovation and the designer hit it out of the ballpark. Everything is beautiful (hopefully guests will do their part to keep it that way). Sheets are soft and a pale buttermilk color, matching the warm browns and pale olive greens of the room. The bed was sooooo comfortable. Breakfast was the standard, prepackage, but everything was well supplied.

We ended up here by default as we couldn't get rooms where we had planned, so while this motel is on a local highway, it is off the beaten track - but it will be worth your effort to find it. Do ask for a room not facing the highway and you will enjoy lots of quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miasnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had to find a hotel since we were traveling and weather was getting bad. First room had issues with tv and had to move, second room had other issues but was so tired just went to sleep.Could of been a little cleaner and desk staff friendlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Comfort Inns are predictable as a national chain, so what is noteworthy about this one is its solid breakfast menu. For example, most have wafflemakers, but this one offers a powdered sugar shaker and whipped cream to top your homemade waffle. Besides the common apples and bananas, you can chose tangelos for the breakfast fruit. Salt and pepper shakers are at each table instead of little packets in the serving area. Nice variety of breads and pastries. Not the perfect breakfast, though. No hot cocoa packets, which my boys love. And no fat free milk; only whole and 2%. About our room: comfortable bed, and fresh linen, but the widescreen, high-def 32 inch TV broadcasts in standard definition; what a waste. The showerhead has a great spray, similar to the wide shower head at Holiday Inns. The best feature of this hotel is location, location. It’s just eight miles from the Dunes National State Park and just a couple miles from West Beach, part of the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore.

Room Tip: Rooms 12-19, 212-219, 223-228 and 312-319, 323-328 face north toward Lake Michigan. Get any of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyJim49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porter
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
3.2 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
384 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
62 reviews
11.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1800 W US Highway 20, Porter, IN 46350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Porter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing