We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Pizza Brutta

Pizza Brutta
Ranked #27 of 983 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

One of my favorite wood fired pizzas in Madison. Salads are great. Service efficient and friendly. This place appreciates their customers and it shows.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodisfun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“good place for pizza”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went there back to back days and had the margherita con bufalo pizza. All the pizzas look good. Both days they cooked our basil on top of the pizza in the oven. It may have been nice to have some fresh basil on it when it came out. The pizza is true neopolitan so you have to start eating this with a fork, as the crust is so thin. They make your wood fired pizza in about 3 minutes. It's a nice neighborhood where my wife liked shopping in the group of eclectic shops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My must stop place in Madison.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I get to Madison twice a year and this is my must stop place. I learned after my first visit that it really simplifies ordering if I just start with the "margherita pizza" which is sauce,cheese,and basil, and add a couple of toppings to that. After a little love in that wood fired oven and perfection!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
386 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“I love the farm to table aspect”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Four of us went here because of the tripadvisor rating and I guess I have to say I'm surprised by the rating. I am always looking for farm to table or organic dining, but none of us were crazy wowed by this pizza. I started off with the arugula salad and it was fantastic....fresh, and tasty...felt like I was in Italy. My husband and I ordered the Salame and Funghi pizza and I didn't even taste the mushrooms. Yes, the crust was thin and tasty, but I wanted to taste the mushrooms. I also, thought the sauce on that pizza was too salty. I would rather it had tasted tomatoey. I can't say it was the best pizza I have ever had, but I loved the fact that they are healthier than other restaurants, so I have to give them some rubs.

My son and girlfriend ordered the Cremini pizza...now, if I had ordered that, I would have been happier. It wasn't as salty, since it doesn't have red sauce and I tasted the mushrooms. They also ordered the Salsiccia pizza and the fennel sausage and onions were very tasty. It looks like I ordered the wrong pizza, which I still think could have been better.

I didn't mind the dining experience...in fact, I enjoyed it. I loved the wood, the brick, the cute booths and the quaintness of menus written on chalkboards. Even the outside of this pizzaria is charming. The wait staff were friendly and accommodating, letting me try a sip of wine before I bought it. That was nice. But the pizza we ordered was disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
283 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Okay place to eat but not to dine”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

You order at the counter, take your table, and they bring you your food like you would at Five Guys. Since this was the top rated restaurant in all of Madison, I guess I expected more. I have to rate it "poor" from a dining perspective. However, the food is made with good ingredients and was served quickly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hsbvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Brutta also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Brutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing