We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Speckled Hen Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Speckled Hen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me for my 40th with a stay here. When we drove up you see the beautiful grounds. So well taken care of and my 1st impression was blown away.

Walking into the gathering area felt as if we have walked into our home. Very warm and inviting with homemade cookies and unlimited coffee.

We stayed in the Madison room and couldn't believe how amazing it was. I felt like a kid taking it all in. The decor, the sitting areas, wet bar, huge steam shower, and jacuzzi tub.

We enjoyed the walks around the property looking at the sheep and llama with their dog Happy.

The breakfast, words can't describe how delicious it was. The taste , presentation and Bob made me wanting more!

I can't wait to go back and visit with Bob! It's so close to State St yet has a country touch. My review can't give it the justice it deserves!!





We checked in early with no objection from them. When we walked in, it felt as if we were walking into our home.

The

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank love2travel2mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for spending your birthday with us and we are very pleased that you were blown away. Thank you for all of your glowing comments. We look forward to your return visit and I look forward to more enjoyable conversations. GO PACK!

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
326
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I scheduled a get-a-way weekend up in Madison, WI. I found the Speckled Hen Inn online and knew it would be perfect for us. Upon arrival we were greeted and given a tour by Pat; it felt like home! Very nice common areas with freshly baked cookies Pat had just pulled out of the oven, coffee, tea, beverages available anytime and a lot of books / guides on what to do in the Madison area.
The property is beautiful; sheep in the pasture, fall colors on the trees surrounding the house and peace & quite.
The room was wonderful! Very comfortable, nicely decorated and an attached bathroom. The only thing that got us out of bed in the morning was the wonderful aroma of breakfast that Bob was making. I love that you could also pick what time you wanted to eat breakfast. 8am, 9am or 10am. Not sure if anyone can make it to 10am with the house smelling so good!
Breakfast was AMAZING. 3 courses of absolutely delicious food. We would also get to sit down and chat with the other guests, Bob & Pat and Happy, their dog, would always make an appearance.
We will definitely return to the Speckled Hen Inn with friends and family. Anyone who is in the Madison area…stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Kari
Thank you for the glowing recommendation. I am glad that you mentioned that you enjoyed the flexibility of multiple breakfast times and that we serve 3 courses. Since you are here to relax, there should be flexibility in the breakfast times. We are also glad that the breakfast aromas got you out of bed. We look forward to your return with friends and family.
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Speckled Hen Inn in August 2013 when we were in Madison to help our son move from the UW dorms into a house. The place was very charming and Bob and Pat made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Each breakfast was prepared using eggs from their hens and fresh ingredients from the garden. It was delicious! They were also able to accomodate my gluten-free allergy, which I truly appreciated. The sheep grazing on the pasture were very scenic and calming. This B&B offers a laid-back atmosphere with all the necessary amenities. We highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Janet
Thank you for staying with us and for such a lovely review. We love doing gluten-free breakfasts and think that we are getting pretty good at it. With the amount of produce that we grow here in our gardens, it is fun to do creative things with it. Since the area you call home is sorely lacking the fluffy white fun stuff of winter, you are invited to come enjoy it with us.
Bob. Pat and Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I discovered The Speckled Hen Inn 3 years ago. We have been coming back ever since! The Inn itself is in a gorgeous setting; and the rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and IMMACULATELY clean. You simply can't beat the special touches....warm cookies or brownies and a cup of hot coffee when you first arrive....a charming dog, Happy, that will give you a walking tour of the property....and Bob and Pat, the wonderful innkeepers who instantly make you feel at home! We thoroughly enjoy the breakfast that is prepared using fresh produce from their garden. Each time we have left the table soooo full that we didn't eat again until dinner that evening! We HIGHLY recommend a stay at The Speckled Hen Inn....you will not walk away disappointed or hungry!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
JELAINE

Thank you for visiting with us again. Repeat guests are our highest compliment. We also appreciate the “Immaculately clean” comment and will share the comment with our wonderful staff. We dug the last of the potatoes yesterday and got nearly 150 pounds of them. So, even though the garden season has come to an end, we do still have the bounty of our land to share with our guests. I finished the chicken coop and sheep winter quarters this week as well, so everyone should be good for winter. Thank you again for making the Speckled Hen Inn your favorite.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Such a lovely setting. The sheep were in full view, with a white fence enclosure and pretty barn attached. The house welcomes you with a little kitchen and gathering room for all to find a ready cup of coffee, tea, or even wine for sale, at a reasonable price. Everything is there for your needs, games and an inviting table, if you're in for a rainy afternoon. Each room has a lovely view of the grounds (nearly 50 acres). Our breakfast was just superb, with their fresh farm eggs and local bacon and homemade jam. Pat and Bob have thought of everything (even a power strip in the room) to keep you happy, even their dog is named Happy! We will definitely have to make this stop again, when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TemPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Happy is a great name for a Happy dog. As you can tell, he really enjoys his job. Thank you for staying with us and for the “lovely setting” comment. We are so fortunate to be able to share 50 acres in the middle of Madison with you. I will let the girls know that you enjoyed their eggs and Happy and I will rest up this winter in preparation for the spring maple syrup season so that we can keep the glazed bacon available for your return visit.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Could not have asked for a better experience . Accommodations were amazing and warm and welcoming. Happy was always there to greet us to(he was so cute)!I felt like I was in a top of the line sweet at the best luxury hotel ever! Breakfast will leave you full and happy, The food at breakfast was some of the best I've ever had! Do yourself a favor and if you're ever in Madison, forget the hotels and stay here you'll never regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Steve

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience. We agree wholeheartedly that everyone deserves to pamper themselves once in a while. We see so many guests arrive burdened by their life situations. We do our best to provide an opportunity for all our guests to relax and connect with the real world again. We do that by trying to connect you with the food that you can see growing in our garden and then served on your breakfast plate. We provide you comfortable places to relax and watch the sheep graze or read or enjoy a quiet conversation. Happy is a tail-wagging believer in the therapeutic benefits of petting a dog. Oh, and don’t forget the time honored tradition of soaking your cares away in a roomy tub. Every season brings its own special ways to pamper and restore your body and soul. We hope you will indulge again soon.
Bob, Pat and Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to find this when most hotels in Madison were booked because of the World Dairy Expo. How lucky for us! This will be our first choice from now on while staying in the area. Everything about it was top-notch and it was the perfect choice because there was plenty for my husband to do- (eat a great breakfast, help solve world problems with Bob and bond with Happy, the luckiest dog on the planet) while I spent time at a medical conference downtown. Next time we stay, I plan to get breakfast!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Sharon

We truly did enjoy the discussions with your husband and are very glad that you found us. A B&B is a great alternative to a hotel especially when you do have or want some time to just hang out and relax. I do hope that you will return again for work or just leisure…there are more world problems to solve and at the breakfast table is as good a spot as any.

Bob & Lucky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Property: The Speckled Hen Inn
Address: 5525 Portage Rd, Madison, WI 53704-2756
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 20-acre property features gardens, trails, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their fine breakfast cuisine featuring locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. The Innkeeper's knowledge of the area provides guests with valued guidance in things to enjoy while visiting the Inn. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing