We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country relaxation with sheep!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Speckled Hen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Speckled Hen was the perfect country escape. My wife and I were traveling with another couples, and we were looking for a country-ish escape from Chicago. After tons of research, we settled on the Speckled Hen, and it didn't disappoint.

What we liked most:
- the homemade cookies in the kitchen just waiting for us to gobble up (which we did)
- the endless supply of coffee (we couldn't get enough on this chilly weekend)
- the bathrooms (bathrooms make all the difference, and these puppies were far beyond most B&Bs)
- the breakfast (oh, the breakfast! Does Bob cater?)
- the sheets (I could explain them in great detail, but if you go and sleep on them yourself, you'll know what I'm talking about)
- the grounds (we went on a run on Sunday morning and the roads and grounds were easy to navigate. Not too busy, and certainly not crowded)

Room Tip: There are only two rooms on the first floor that are accessed from the inside (The Rising Sun and To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cityrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Bob does cater. I am so glad to hear that the Inn matched your research! We and our guests on TripAdvisor tell it like it is! It was a pleasure to meet you and your friends. I is good to see young people discovering B&B’s…and enjoying a country escape from city life! Please come back.
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 567 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Speckled Hen exceeded my expectations...even after reading all the amazing reviews on the Internet. The owners strike the perfect balance between a professionally run destination and a cozy, romantic spot. Our room was gorgeous... Fireplace, large spa, comfy bathrobes, CD player with a nice selection of music. Mo detail is overlooked. The "gazebo" ( really more like an outdoor sanctuary) was a gorgeous spot to enjoy a glass ( or 2) of wine. The cedar interior was amazing...

We arrived during a torrential rain storm and were quite happy not to feel pressured leave to go sight-seeing. We made use of the fireplace, just to chase the chill away. The linens and towels were generous and of top quality.

In the morning, the breakfast was fresh, delicious and leisurely. We enjoyed the conversations with other guests and the friendly, interesting owners. I tried to steal Happy ( the dog)... But he wouldn't fit in my suitcase. Happy really added to the lovely experience. If you are in Madison, skip the generic hotels.. Stay at The Speckled Hen.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vmcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for visiting us and for the most delightful conversations. The comment that we still exceeded your expectations after reading all of the amazing reviews on the Internet is really special. Thank you.
The Gazebo is our favorite wine drinking spot as well. It was locally built and I have never found one quite so nice. I love the smell of cedar. We just bought all new linens and towels for the Inn and we are so pleased that you noticed. Life is too short to use cheap towels or drink cheap wine! Happy wants to know if you have cheese in New York?
Thank you again.
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights towards the end of our holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Starkweather Creek room with whirlpool bath and separate shower area. Had a great nights sleep on an extremely comfortable bed. Bob was a superb host and surprised us each morning with a fantastic, delicious breakfast. My partner loved seeing the farm especially the hens and the llama. Happy the dog was around to greet us in the morning. A beautiful home with plenty of facilities including a range of wines. The really is an experience I would highly recommend to stay if visiting in the area. We do hope to return one day. Thanks Bob and Happy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Rebecca
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay as much as I enjoyed meeting the two of you. You are the kind of people that make this job so much fun. If I am ever in Scotland, I will pop in to see your chickens. Thank you so very much for all the wonderful comments concerning the beds, grounds, and my cooking!
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Speckled Hen Bed and Breakfast came highly recommended by every travel site I checked and from friends/family. If you are looking for a quality Bed and Breakfast in Madison PLEASE stay here. You will definitely enjoy it.

Booking directly through their website took about ten minutes from start to finish and we received a reminder a few days before our reservation via email explaining policies, etc.

Upon arriving we were checked in right away and given a tour of the facilities:

~ Our Room (Lakes) ~
- Steam Shower (Had never used one before, major highlight of our stay)
- Rain Water Shower (Out of commission during our stay)
- Two person tub with water jets (I want one of these in MY house now)
- Very large bed with multiple king-sized pillows.
- Satellite Television (We didn't use it at all, but it's there)

~ Common Area ~
- Multiple board games (Chess, Checkers, etc)
- Nice selection of wines.
- Complimentary sodas and a few snacks (pretzels, etc)
- Quite a few couches and chairs to lounge in.

~ Outdoors ~
- Large fenced area for 10 (ish) sheep and (at least) one llama.
- Multiple sitting areas both directly in-front of the house and down by the sheep.
- Scenic walking routes throughout the property (we didn't use most of them as there were TONS of bugs when we were there)

We spent our evening lounging in the room, taking walks on the property, sweating in the steam shower, soaking in the two-person bath-tub, watching the sunset (everything is perfectly positioned to watch the sunset), and then falling asleep contented in the excessively comfortable bed.

We woke up, took another walk, ate a home-made breakfast which consisted of eggs from the property's hens and artichokes which I believe were from the property as well. After this we checked out, paying via card, and were on our way back to life.

Room Tip: The Lakes Room has an incredible bathroom. The steam shower is definitely worth paying a few extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Adrian

Thank you so very much for the comprehensive review of the Madison Lakes Room. We are glad that you enjoyed your mini-getaway and thank you for choosing the Speckled Hen Inn. The parts finally arrived and I fixed the rain shower this morning so we hope to see you again to try it out.

Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Speckled Hen gives you the feeling of being on a farm, though you're on the very edge of Madison, Wis., one of the coolest destinations you can imagine in the Midwest. Bob and Pat make you feel at home and very well-fed, much of what they serve coming from their own garden and flock of chickens.

You can't go wrong combining the Speckled Hen with the delights of Madison!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Jeff
Thank you for the kind comments. It is amazing to be able to experience the country just 0.2 miles from Madison. Madison and the Speckled Hen Inn are cool places to visit, as you suggest, and we are very happy to have shared both of them with you and look forward to your return
Bob & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary at the Speckled Hen Inn. The 50-acre setting feels like country but is just minutes from the Capitol and University. The grounds are wooded and the view to the front is a beautiful white-fenced pasture for a llama and sheep. A gazebo with sliding windows and screens is available off the walking path, and we enjoyed it as an afternoon refuge from mosquitos and a lovely place to listen to CDs that were provided. We stayed in the Heywood Hardy suite. It was perfect in every way with pre-arranged flowers, chocolates, and wine on arrival. It's a beautifully-decorated two-room suite. The king-sized bed and linens were luxurious. It was a bit warm for a fire, but if we'd wanted it, a gas fireplace, as well as an ample bubble bathtub were available in the large room. A small deck off the bedroom allowed the enjoyment of nature with privacy. The breakfasts created by Pat and Bob were delicious, ample, and locally-sourced. Pat also spoiled us with wonderful treats to find when we arrived back from our adventures in the evening. The Speckled Hen is such a warm and wonderful experience because you feel like every inch of the Inn and grounds is yours to enjoy! We highly recommend it and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Check with Pat and Bob for both 1st and 2nd floor rooms if stairs are an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Ken

Thank you for celebrating your 45th wedding anniversary at the Speckled Hen Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the grounds as well as the suite. Thank you for the kind and detailed comments about the Inn for others to enjoy. We look forward to your return visit.

Bob & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at this delightful Inn. We stayed in the Heywood Hardy suite which i can recommend, separate bathroom and sitting room and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in - and I have slept in many - more comfortable than the bed at a Ritz Carlton I slept in last week. Pat and Bob are gracious hosts who truly made us comfortable as soon as we arrived. Inn is located an easy 15 minute drive from the center of Madison so between the Inn and spending time in town we had a really relaxing weekend break from the more hectic Chicago environment we are used to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Martin

Thanks for the comparison to the Ritz Carlton. The beds we use are hand crafted right here in Wisconsin and are indeed comfortable. We are glad that Madison provided you with a relaxing respite from Chicago and a memorable wedding anniversary.
Bob and Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
767 reviews
6.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#28 of 63 in Madison
550 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
7.8 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#12 of 63 in Madison
702 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Address: 5525 Portage Rd, Madison, WI 53704-2756
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms with fireplaces & jetted tubs. The 20-acre property features gardens, trails, orchards, vineyard, wetlands and pastures where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their 3 course farm to table breakfast cuisine featuring fresh eggs, fruits and vegetables produced on-site. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing