We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait till July”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Speckled Hen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait till July”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love this place. My husband and I have come here to celebrate our anniversary two years running. (Technically it's nowhere near our anniversary date. We just use that as our excuse. But it works.) It's our personal vacation – time out from everything else. We were here, actually, last July. It is now March, and I'm still thinking about how great a stay it was.

It is so peaceful and quiet – a perfect way to recharge. We are always torn between leaving to go get supper, and just staying to enjoy the space. Ah, wonderful green space. When you do have to eat, there are actually plenty of restaurants nearby. Some will even let you order in. And Bob and Pat seem to know about all of them, which is an awesome help for us out-of-towners!

It's hard to say what the best part is. We love the room – the Madison Lakes Room – with its hot tub and steam shower (not to mention all the little snacks and games and such hidden away in there for you to find.) The other guests always have great stories to share in the morning (though you would think you were the only one there the rest of the stay.) I love how Bob and Pat even get to join us around the table. They really love what they do.

And of course, breakfast is outstanding! Fresh, local ingredients – some from right on site – put together in fun, delicious ways. Totally UN-like your standard hotel “free breakfast.” (Seriously, might have to look into going at a different time of year just to try some of the other seasonal menu items. They ALL sound good. Yum!)

Bob and Pat, we hope to be joining you at your “place” for many years to come. Thank you for everything. Totally looking forward to coming back to “our room” this July.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Jennifer
We do love what we do and you hit the nail on the head…we like it because of guests like you! It is so satisfying to be told that you look forward to your return several months in advance and that you are still remembering last year’s visit. We have been creating this place since 1984 when we purchased a “blank” piece of land. What has evolved into our dream property wouldn’t mean as much to us if we didn’t have the opportunity to share it with others who love it as we do. And the evolution continues this week with planting seeds indoors and working on opening the Greenhouse (April 1)…so with any luck, there will be more “yum” in your future. See you in July and thank you for such a kind and descriptive review.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
332
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Christmas Eve and, though I had made reservations in advance, it was only upon my arrival that we were told they didn't plan to make breakfast for the following morning. This was a substantial disappointment since a large part of the appeal of a Bed & Breakfast is the breakfast. The rooms were nice, but, for the money, I should have stayed at a nice hotel in town. The labradoodle is a very nice dog and the owner was friendly enough, bathrooms were well-appointed and bed was ok. But I was there for the breakfast and a half-cup of coffee, warmed up pastry and Yoplait yogurt was not enough to get me back there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydraulicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are sorry that this guest was disappointed with the Breakfast at the Inn. The guest should have received a note from us with his confirmation letter, telling him of the alternative breakfast service on Christmas morning. We heartily agree that Breakfast is one of the highlights of a Bed and Breakfast stay and we do serve an acclaimed breakfast which includes fresh fruit and homemade pastries, entrees featuring locally produced eggs, meats and veggies, and finished with a desert surprise, 364 days of the year. On Christmas Day we try to still take very good care of our guests, but we also try to take that one day to celebrate with our family and give all our staff the day off so that they can be with their families also. The Breakfast offered on Christmas morning included fresh fruit and yogurt, our homemade granola, pastry warm from the oven and unlimited coffee, tea, and fruit juices. Additionally, our Christmas morning guests were given a $30 credit to their lodging charges for breakfast, since many visit their families in Madison that morning and do not actually want breakfast.

Here is another review from the same day with a different opinion:
“Best Christmast Gift..Ever!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012
Cue Llamas, sheep, deer, turkey - oh, and Happy the Golden doodle! I have been to B&B's all over the US and this is, by far, number#1. In addition to the wonderful (warm, funny) innkeepers, Pat & Bob (Happy too) the attention to detail was amazing. From the holiday decorations, beautiful rooms, super bath products, cookies made every afternoon and then acres of trees, meadow and critters - all within minutes of the city of Madison.

Oh, and did I mention the fabulous breakfasts? OH-MY-GOSH! Beautifully plated meals that showcased Pat and Bob's garden (and chickens) and locally grown/made food (did anyone say cheese??). Note: We were the only guests there on Christmas morning and told Pat & Bob that they didn't need to make breakfast for us - they did, joyfully. Thank you.

If there were an 10-star option, I would have clicked on it. Thanks, Pat and Bob (ARF!, Happy).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Haywood Hearty Suite at the Speckled Hen Inn. This is a two room suite which provided ample room to relax and enjoy. The room was decorated nicely and included a two person whirlpool which functioned very well. We were graciously greeted by Pat the owner upon arrival and were offered freshly baked cookies and Alterra coffee. The breakfast was excellent-served oatmeal blueberry pancakes with locally produced breakfast sausage. Despite four of five of their rooms being occupied, it was very quiet. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.
David

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djtravelwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
David
"Heywood Heaven"...what a complement! It is my favorite room; the two room Suite is very confortable. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. The Inn is very quite, unlike a hotel. The rooms are all pretty much seperated from one another and the quests are respectful of others privacy. Thank you for the recommendation.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I spent last weekend with Bob, Pat and Happy at the Speckled Hen Inn. We were immediately impressed with the property as we entered the house and even happier when Pat showed us our room. The breakfast was incredible. I have spent the past four days thinking about that bacon... We definitely plan on returning and staying a couple nights next time. We were so sad to leave after one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Rob
Thank you so very much for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed my "signature" maple glazed bacon...as they say, it is "not available in stores"! In preparation for you return visit, Happy and I will start taping our maple trees this Friday and prepare a fresh batch of maple syrup so that I may keep the bacon coming. You you again soon.
Bob, Pat and Happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our third stay was a wonderful, peaceful beginning to retirement. The Innkeepers are wonderfully welcoming; the Inn very inviting. The beautiful view from the window seat overlooking the farm is quite relaxing. We don't want to leave for meals or other sightseeing.
The breakfast was so unique and delicious. Again, we felt spoiled with the simple elegance and personal attention.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Bev
It was our pleasure to host you to help celebrate the first day of retirement! Thank you for selecting us to mark this special day. We are happy that you felt relaxed...but now you guys have plenty of time to perfect that goal! Thank you also for being a loyal repeat guest. As we discussed, we measure our true value to our guests by knowing that you will come back again if we meet your expectations. That is our goal as Innkeepers and always will be. When we do not have repeat guests, we too shall retire. Enjoy your new found "down time", I am sure that you earned it. Hope to see you again in the future.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Absolutely loved it! My boyfriend and I have been at the Speckled Hen Inn two times and were very pleased with the service and our room. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, and great get away! We loved taking a walk around the B&B with their dog Happy, we especially loved seeing the llama and sheep. I am looking forward to going there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Destiny and Jeremy
First, thank you for being a repeat guest. Obviously we appreciate the business but more importantly repeat guests let us know that we our meeting you expectations. It was good to see you again and we look forward to your next visit to the Inn...hopefully with a little less snow!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent just one night at the Speckled Hen Inn, but it should have been longer!! The place is really nice (environment, rooms,etc), not far from Madison, and the innkeepers wonderful. They let you feel like at home. We were actually celebrating our anniversary, and this place is just great for that! And the breakfast was incredible!

We will certainly recommend this place, and hope to go soon again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarOhrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for spending your anniversary with us and hopefully we will see you again in future years. We agree that the Inn is a perfect place for an anniversary celebration. In fact nearly 2/3 of our guests come here for that reason. We enjoyed your visit and extend our best wishes to both of you for many happy years together.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
1.2 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Property: The Speckled Hen Inn
Address: 5525 Portage Rd, Madison, WI 53704-2756
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 20-acre property features gardens, trails, orchards, vineyard, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their 3 course farm to table breakfast cuisine featuring owner and locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Speckled Hen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing