We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Destiny and Jeremy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Speckled Hen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coloma, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Destiny and Jeremy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Absolutely loved it! My boyfriend and I have been at the Speckled Hen Inn two times and were very pleased with the service and our room. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, and great get away! We loved taking a walk around the B&B with their dog Happy, we especially loved seeing the llama and sheep. I am looking forward to going there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Destiny and Jeremy
First, thank you for being a repeat guest. Obviously we appreciate the business but more importantly repeat guests let us know that we our meeting you expectations. It was good to see you again and we look forward to your next visit to the Inn...hopefully with a little less snow!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
328
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent just one night at the Speckled Hen Inn, but it should have been longer!! The place is really nice (environment, rooms,etc), not far from Madison, and the innkeepers wonderful. They let you feel like at home. We were actually celebrating our anniversary, and this place is just great for that! And the breakfast was incredible!

We will certainly recommend this place, and hope to go soon again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarOhrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonInnkeeper, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for spending your anniversary with us and hopefully we will see you again in future years. We agree that the Inn is a perfect place for an anniversary celebration. In fact nearly 2/3 of our guests come here for that reason. We enjoyed your visit and extend our best wishes to both of you for many happy years together.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just spent the last two days at the Speckled Hen Inn. My husband and I like to visit B&B's and were very impressed with our stay! I would rate this inn a 10 out of 10! From the beginning of your stay to the end you will not be disappointed. Our room was immaculate and very roomy. I would recommend the Madison Lakes Room. It has a modern motif and is equipped with elegant furnishings. The whirl pool bath and steam shower were very soothing. Mood lighting and fireplace set the tone. The great room is very spacious and the breakfasts sensational. Both Pat and Robert are very attentive to your needs and make you feel at home. The breakfasts are sensational! The highlight of or visit was Pappy their Goldendoddle. He's such a welcoming host and greeted us each morning for breakfast!

We will come back often! Thanks much! Bob & Liz

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethJ484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Bob & Liz
Getting a "10 out of 10" from people like you who have stayed in so many B&B's is really special...thank you. We really enjoyed your visit and so enjoyed sitting around and talking with you. I really do hope that you will come back often and brighten our lives again, and again.
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding, and have been coming here every year for our anniversary. The breakfast is always top notch. The innkeepers are wonderful, and always have good stories of goings on around the farm. Well worth the money, which is why we've been coming back for the last 3 years. Definitely a warm, inviting place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Shawn
It makes us feel very warm when you not only spent your wedding night with us but have been back every year. Thank you. I am glad that you enjoy my "farm stories", and as you can tell we are very passionate about trying to be sustainable and living off the land. Hope to see you again next year.
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed at this inn from its very start years ago. It has consistently been a very positive experience. They make you feel comfortable to use the living room and the porches as we like. Their meals are outstanding and the companionship refreshing. Our only problem has been our inability to master the television, but they have helped us with that. The Speckled Hen Inn location is ideal for anyone coming to the Madison area and needing to be near a main highway yet it is secluded for a pleasant country feel. Pat K

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Pat and Bob
Thank you for being our guests for the 13 years that we have enjoyed hosting you. You are both very special people and we always look forward to your company when you visit Madison. You are the kind of folks that make this job so rewarding. Best wishes and we hope to see you again and again.
Bob and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed one night to get away and it was perfect. My Husband got the "romance package" which included flowers, chocolates, and sparkling pear juice (we dont drink), and also two valentine cupcakes. The room was beutifull with a huge bed, gas fireplace, flat screen tv with dvd player, and a huge bathroom. There are public areas to sit with lots of books, magazines, and dvds you can take to your room. There is free coffee, hot chocolate, and soda as well. The Specked Henn Inn is the perfect couples getaway. You can choose from three breakfast times and the breakfast was delicious and filling. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniS361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dani
Glad that you enjoyed your "perfect couples getaway" and that you plan to return. We look forward to it. Also thank you for the thorough review of many of the "extras" that we provide to our guests. The cupcakes were good!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Speckled Hen many times, and are always excited about our visits. The room is lovely, and includes a gas fireplace, dvd player, huge tub, and shower for two. The innkeepers Pat, Bob (and Happy the dog) are gracious, friendly, and helpful, always a pleasure to talk to. Even though we are well aware of the size of the breakfasts, and plan ahead by eating little for dinner the night before, we are still unable to do full justice to this amazing meal. Prepared with fresh, local ingredients with occasional references to international culture (i.e. Mexican hot chocolate), the breakfasts are hearty, elegant and always delicious. We recommend the Speckled Hen Inn very highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Barbara
It was good to see you guys once again. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay again and look forward to many more. Thank you for your kind comments on our breakfast; we could cut back, but that would just be wrong!
Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Property: The Speckled Hen Inn
Address: 5525 Portage Rd, Madison, WI 53704-2756
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 20-acre property features gardens, trails, orchards, vineyard, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their 3 course farm to table breakfast cuisine featuring owner and locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Speckled Hen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing