We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful romantic getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Speckled Hen Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Speckled Hen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“wonderful romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Beautiful B&B juts outside of Madison, with terrific hosts, comfortable beds, a very friendly dog, and a delicious and decadent 3-course breakfast. We didn't have to have lunch the whole weekend we were there! I would recommend the Speckled Hen to anyone. Really a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in the Rising Sun room, which is a little smaller than most of the rooms and has an across t...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
326
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
257 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were 2 couples, stayed for 2 nights this May, could not have been better taken care of. Hosts Pat and Bob are a great team, make you feel at ease and welcomed. Rooms are large, well appointed, modern, lots of living room space for guests (we ate, had happy hour in one one evening...), friendly big non-shedding dog, small farm environment with lots of local food used (eggs, cherries, jam, etc). Website has lots of ideas about stuff to do. Free coffee, cookies, computer, cokes, etc. always available. One room is a steal since it is cheaper due to bath being across the hall (robes included). Only drawback (not a big deal) is that noise from nearby I 90 was present.

Room Tip: see write up- one room has bath across hall, is a good deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Pat and Bob were wonderful hosts, the rooms and breakfast were first-rate and the setting visually beautiful. However, for my husband and I, the noise from the nearby expressway was a major impediment to us enjoying our stay. The was nowhere on the grounds to experience peace and quiet (we could even hear the dull roar of trucks in our room) and since that was our primary reason for choosing the Speckled Hen Inn, we were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speckled_Hen_Inn, Owner at The Speckled Hen Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Let me begin by saying that we are also disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish for all guests to enjoy their stay at the Speckled Hen Inn. Had you mentioned that you were not enjoying your stay while you were with us, we would have been happy to assist you in finding other accommodations in Madison.
Since we take guest satisfaction very seriously, we decided to look up some of your other reviews of other trips that you have made, elsewhere, to try to put your concerns into perspective for ourselves and for other potential guests who might read our only “poor” review.
I thought your review of your stay at a property in Sedona helped our understanding of your concerns. In that review you stated:
“Our room was nicely appointed, but I'm a light sleeper and moonlight seeping in through the shades and the sound of the forced air heat took away from the otherwise idyllic sleeping conditions”.
In an effort to be helpful, we might suggest that while we can understand your disappointment, you might consider in the future of bringing your “light sleeper” concerns to the attention of the owners of a property prior to making the reservation, so that they can help you determine if their property would be right for you. This could help in avoiding future disappointments in your travels.
Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I hope our response is not viewed as negative, but that you and others find it informative and constructive.
Bob & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's thru the years. This ranks in the top. Bob and Pat are very gracious hosts and make you feel at home. The Madison Lakes room was wonderful. The champane bubble tub and spa shower made the experience so relaxing. In the morning we took a walk around the grounds with our morning coffee. It was very peaceful. We have already recommended this B&B to several of our friends. Only recommendation is a more gluten friendly breakfast.

Room Tip: Madison Lake room is separate from the house. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Have enjoyed each stay at the Speckled Hen Inn. Is quiet, relaxing, and have the best breakfasts of anywhere I have stayed. Bob and Pat are outstanding hosts, and Happy is a charming greeter. What a beautiful place to relax and enoy the countryside, but still be so close to town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausau
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is the best B&B! The rooms are very nice, the owners are very accomadating and the food is great. We stay here at least 2-3 times a year and we never regret it. The highway is near but we don't hear the highway noise. The location is great, right in town but a country setting. We love the animals and Happy. Again its a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: There all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Wonderful hosts, food, atmosphere.. We coul dnot believe how close to Madison it is , yet secluded and peaceful... Yup, the highway is close, but not an issue. Breakfast with the Chef's was an enjoyable experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Hen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Hen Inn

Property: The Speckled Hen Inn
Address: 5525 Portage Rd, Madison, WI 53704-2756
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Hen is just outside the city of Madison and has 5 spacious guest rooms. The 20-acre property features gardens, trails, wetlands and meadows where the Inn's sheep and llamas graze. The Inn is recognized for their fine breakfast cuisine featuring locally produced eggs, dairy, fruits and vegetables. The Innkeeper's knowledge of the area provides guests with valued guidance in things to enjoy while visiting the Inn. Here you will find Life and Lodging in Sustainable Style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing