We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel - so lucky to have stayed there”
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion Hill Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
1 review
“What a great hotel - so lucky to have stayed there”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This hotel was recommended to me by a colleague and I am so grateful that they did. This hotel was recommended to me by a colleague and I am so grateful that they did. The staff are very helpful and will do all that they can to help you settle in after travelling all day. I arrived and my luggage didn't, so the hotel staff helped with providing toiletries and some clothing as well as sorting out cleaning the clothes that I had travelled in, then they took charge of chasing and collecting my luggage for me whilst I was at work. The rooms are really lovely and comfortable and quite with each one being unique, whilst the rest of the hotel feels like staying in someone's house. It is really handy for the centre of Madison where there are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. If you want something special and different from the rest try 'The Inn' you will not be disappointed....... I wasn't!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    27
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
144
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay at the Mansion Hill Inn for one night this spring. The newly redesigned boutique-style hotel offers beautiful rooms, fantastic customer service and an ideal location for exploring Madison. The terrace was not completed when we stayed in May, but has since been added. We look forward to our next stay and would HIGHLY recommend this charming Inn for anyone looking for a quiet, clean and 5-star experience in Madison.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pheasantlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Mansion Hill Inn several times beginning in 1993. We found it to be a beautiful, romantic place. We were stunned at the changes made by the most recent renovation. Not only is the Inn more beautiful than before but the service far exceeds what we experienced previously.
Specifically, Amanda, Michael and Adam were both gracious and accommodating.
Now that we no longer have children attending the University we will have to invent reasons to come to Madison and stay at this beautiful, friendly hotel.
.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My wife and I had an incredibly romantic celebration of our 28th wedding anniversary at the Mansion Hill Inn. We had some friends join us in the cozy bar and parlor for drinks and dinner, and it felt like we were hosting a private party in our own estate, complete with our personal serving staff. The cheerful hosts helped order a delivered meal to the parlor, and attended to our every need. The amazing restoration of this beautiful building makes it a real Madison gem and a terrific central location for a pampered and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

This is a true treasure of a hotel and the recent rennovations turn it into nothing short of a Hilton/ Sheraton. Beige... no character and such interesting nooks and hidden bookcases are all gone. This modern update is everything I feared. This gem of a hotel has been stripped of its' character. A sad day indeed. i will not return.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jkarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

I started staying at Mansion Hill Inn in 2006 when I traveled to Madison for business. All the rooms were different and had so much antique charm. They used to have minibars, dvd players, complimentary wine in parlor and the best was the giant jacuzzi tubs in almost all the rooms. The place was a total showstopper. It was my #1 pick in madison.

Now only 2 rooms have tubs. The prices are all up at least $100 per room even in the 3 VERY small rooms. And all the rooms pretty much have the same look and design now. It's bland and boring. When I asked for breakfast in my room they said they didn't do that anymore. They also don't offer frequent biz traveler/corporate discount anymore.

What gives???? The only thing they ADDED with the renovation was a higher room cost. I can only wonder how long they'll stay in business this way.

Go to the Madison Concourse Hotel instead---you'll get free happy hour, snacks, desserts, cocktails, breakfast. I get a giant room on the club level with all the amenities and a hundred bucks less than Mansion Hill. So long Mansion Hill... sorry

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonSmith67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I stayed at Mansion Hill Inn for the first time in April 2007. I found it online when looking for a getaway spot with my boyfriend, and I was captivated by the way each room had its own history and personality. I returned at least 8 times through Feb. 2008 when I was told they were closing soon for renovations.

I read about the sale to Trek. There was much speculation in Madison about whether the inn would ever open again to the public, or be strictly reserved for Trek executives. I have checked the website anxiously many times over the last year, waiting to see what the "new" interior design would look like.

Today I revisited the inn through the small photos the new owners have finally posted of the new room designs. I knew all 11 (now 10) of those rooms. What a disappointment. Not only did they strip most of the sumptuous bathrooms of their jacuzzi tubs (a big plus in my book), they converted every room into a plain vanilla, hardly recognizable boring hotel.

They removed most of the lovely antiques--including some unique and amazing beds and window coverings--put the same wallpaper and floor treatments and bed coverings in all rooms, and even the furniture arrangements don't make sense. An example would be "Room 8," formerly the Lillie Langtry. In a large room with several spaces and walls to work with, why move a bed close to the entryway and parallel, and just a few feet, from a marble fireplace? Not exactly private and romantic. Who wants to sleep---or do what romantic grownups do--- right next to the door...?

Lastly-- in a demonstration of just how little creativity and style the new owners have--the rooms have been renamed "room 1, room 2," etc. Sigh.

Another disappointment but hardly a surprise---The prices have all gone up at least $100 per room, in spite of the fact that many of the rooms have been stripped of their major amenities such as the dvd players in-room, refrigerators with well stocked minibars, and jacuzzi tubs. There is no longer breakfast service delivered to your door---you have to go to the parlor. I guess the new visitors are paying for the redecorating.

I suppose for visitors who had never known the Inn pre-Trek, the "renovation" might not be as unappealing as I find it. But I feel so, sooo disappointed, having known the Mansion Hill Inn when it had character, and now...when it looks like a Marriott. What a terrible loss. I'm really sad to say I won't return.

(PS: Someone needs to proofread the new website. It is covered with spelling errors. ugh.)

Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank susankm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Property: Mansion Hill Inn
Address: 424 N Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-1472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing