We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansion Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Madison at the Mansion Hill Inn with another couple. We were in town for college football. Aside from the town of Madison bring a great little college town the inn was incredible. The home itself is amazing architecturally, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. They don't have a kitchen but the inn is within close walking distance to both the State Street area as well as the Capitol. They even have a fleet of bikes you can borrow to run around town, which I did. The rooms are great, very period appropriate but extremely comfortable with all modern amenities.

I would definitely recommend a stay here and will come back the next time we're in Madison.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    22
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
125
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely! We stayed on third floor in this amazing venue. Staff was fabulous with respect to service. Food was great! Took pictures of it so we could copy when we entertain. One small complaint is that the grout in shower not perfectly clean. We have the exact same tile/grout in our shower at home. Solution is simply to make sure the bleach based cleaner touches all parts of shower. Would return to this venue without question.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKEShrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertoBVallarta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

From phoning to make our reservation to checking in and out-- it was a wonderful experience. Our room was on the 1st floor and very well appointed. The bed was so comfy!! Breakfast was more then continental--pastry--bagels--fresh juice--when returning after shopping cold drinks available. If our path takes us back to Madison this is the only place we would stay..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elinor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Mansion Hill Inn is a perfect combination of location, charming and spacious accommodations, and friendly professional service.

Our room had a large balcony with hardwood floors and two comfy chairs where we relaxed both days we were there.

The European breakfast was excellent.

The Inn is owned by the Trek bike company and there is a bike theme throughout including prints from the Tour de France as well as Trek bikes for use by guests.

Room Tip: Room #7 has the awesome balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I spent two nights at the Mansion Hill Inn. The staff and service were truly top notch. The rooms were large and decorated with class and charm. The location was spot on. I will be staying here every time I come back to Madison. Lets keep this small hotel a secret so we can all enjoy this wonderful place.

Room Tip: I was in room #8 and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vaughanobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Traveling from Amsterdam, it was quite some distance to get to, but i'd do it again in a heart beat! It's not often one finds such an exquisitely finished Inn with outstanding, understated service.
We loved it and would definitley go back!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautiful, they vary in size. Ours had a fireplace, I'm not sure if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is our third year staying at the Masion Hill Inn when we come to town for the UW year end band concert. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They made our dinner reservations and picked out a room out that was perfect for us. It is close to the downtown area and state street, the farmers pmarket and all of the other special things in downtown Madison. The rooms are beautifully decorated and yet everything is very new and fresh. The beds are very comfortable and the heated floors in the bathroom are wonderful in the cold days in Wisconsin.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third level are quiet and roomy. This is a beautiful inn with all the beauty of the or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packbacker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
1.5 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Property: Mansion Hill Inn
Address: 424 N Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-1472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing