We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Mansion Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mansion Hill Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2008

I am really quite baffled by the bad reviews. I am in the hospitality industry at a ski resort in Vail, CO
This is a quaint, historic, peaceful, pleasant,relaxing place to stay
the breakfast though limited is very pleasant - the waffles came
with everything on a silver tray with french press fresh coffee - and it was on time every morning served by a fabulous member of the staff. I took coffee on my patio every morning - it was quiet,
serene, private, the trees and flora were wonderful.
The room I had (the Study) was small but served my purpose.
The bed was so comforable and I slept like a baby every night.
in fact I bought a mattress and box springs just like it when I got home
The wine and cheese tray were good - always on time and I took my glass of wine on the patio where I visited with several wonderful guests.- the gatherings were small and one or two glasses of wine were the norm - but the conversations between guests were wonderful.
I am also a handicapped guest so being on garden level alotted me the opportunity to enjoy the relaxing surroundings.
Valet Parking - Cars were parked 1/2 block away - even when
I walked to my car instead of asking someone to go get my car
it was convient. So stay at this 5 star - it is worth the price
Barb

Stayed: July 2007
Thank barbrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 249 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2007

My husband & I stayed in the Carrie Pierce Room. The room was large and really lovely - a nice spot for a romantic evening (especially with that 2-person hot tub in the very spacious bathroom). The shower is not very nice though - the water temp fluctuated and the showerhead kept moving around - and the bathroom door had a tendency to pop open.

Service was good. Staff was very friendly, helpful.

Breakfast was not good - there are so many good places to eat in Madison, skip this stale breakfast and go out somewhere instead.

Would definitely stay here again for the ambiance.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O8222KVannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We spent one night at Mansion Hill in the Lillie Langtry room, and had a wonderful time. The location can't be beat - walking distance to State Street, UWM, lots of restaurants, shopping, and the capital building.
The room rate, although a little high, did include parking, which can be tough to find in Madison. It was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We could see the lit up capital building at night from the balcony.
I agree with other reviewers, that the breakfast was ok, but we had planned to eat breakfast on State Street anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Wanderlust_417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Just returned from staying three days, two nights at the Mansion Hill. Situated in a lovely neighborhood within a few blocks of the capitol building, and State Street Mall which has restaurants and shopping. Madison itself is a very livable city, and the Inn is in a quiet neighborhood. Yes, there are houses next door, but never felt as if they were intruding on me, or me on them.

Had one of the smaller rooms, but had access to the veranda where I ate breakfast each morning. Breakfast was delivered promptly on time, which was important as I was there on business. Wake up calls came as requested. Bed was extremely comfortable, and there was a lovely cabinet complete with TV, so able to watch in the privacy of own room. Even had a DVD player, with DVDs available at the front desk.

The Inn is quiet, peaceful with very helpful staff. Very accomodating, as I arrived extremely early in the morning, 10 am, and as my room was available I was able to check right in.

I would stay there again, and would recommend the property to anyone who is going to Madison and tired of staying in the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ontheroad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My fiancee and I just returned from a weekend in Madison, where we spent one night at the Mansion Hill Inn.
True, the staff is friendly and the inn in itself is beautiful, but beyond that, this place simply is not worth the money.
We arrived and were able to check-in early and park on the side of the building without any valet, which was very convenient. That's when things started to go downhill. We went outside to enjoy our balcony, when we noticed that we could see the couple next door through their window, and everything they were doing -- rather uncomfortable, this forced us to go back to our room and abandon the nice weather. However, some drunk people were having a barbeque behind the inn, and this disrupted the peace and quiet in our room.
The wine reception consisted of two half-filled carafes and some mini-pretzels and mustard, and when we walked in, the pretentious other guest acted as if we were bothering her crossword puzzle and awkwardly left the room.
The shower was excellent, but we agreed that the bed was probably the least comfortable we've slept on in a while. As for breakfast, they managed to mess up a bowl of granola and a Belgian waffle. It was served on a silver platter, as advertised, but the platter itself was the only positive thing about it.
All in all, it was fine for a night, but had we planned more than that, I would have moved to the Hilton on the other side of the Capitol, which I have stayed at before and is both nicer and a better value than the Mansion Hill Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uwdsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Mansion Hill Inn this past week. We have only positive comments we can make. The inn is a beautiful Victorian style B&B. We were greeted by a competent and friendly coed. She explained the inn and options available, valet parking, breakfast, newspaper - the ususals. We were then escorted to our room where she pointed out all of the ammenities.

The room was beautiful, warm clean and had a large wonderful bathroom. In addition there was a balcony that over looked the city. We were told about the breakfast options and were advised to place the order by 9:00 PM the night before on our door with the time to be served. We elected 8:00 AM and the breakfast arrived right at 8:00 and it was hot and delicious.

There is a beautiful parlor for reading, conversation and a glass of complimentary wine. My wife and I would definitely recommend this inn for its friendliness (we met the manager and she was wondeful as well), cleanliness, charm and romantic atmosphere.

Mansion Hill Inn would definitely be our first choice of stay in Madison.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

My husband & I spent our wedding anniversary at this treasure of a bed & breakfast, which we discovered in Madison Magazine. What an enjoyable time we had; the service was incredible and everyone made us feel so welcomed! We just loved our suite, which we took full advantage of the whirlpool tub to soak our stress away. With our suite being at the very top of the spiral staircase, we were left with an incredible view of the Capitol. They even took my husband's and my picture together with the sprial staircase behind us. We were invited to walk through the mansion and take in the fabulous decor' of the many beautiful rooms; we also had the opportunity to take many photographs to cherish our special memories. We will definately be back for another stay! ~very pleased

Stayed: February 2006
Thank dedenhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 64 in Madison
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 64 in Madison
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hill Inn

Address: 424 N Pinckney St, Madison, WI 53703-1472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: $205 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hill Inn, a boutique hotel located in downtown Madison, offers superior hospitality, luxurious accommodations and historic charm. Your visit includes complimentary breakfast, valet parking, fitness center, wireless internet, and a fleet of Trek bicycles for guests to use as well as an onsite bar. At the Mansion Hill Inn, your innkeeper is your personal concierge with knowledge of Madison restaurants, activities and events and a willingness to go above and beyond to help you make the most of your time in Madison (printing boarding passes, fulfilling special requests upon arrival, booking dinner reservations, etc.) The Mansion Hill Inn is ideal for romantic getaways, business travel, weekend getaways, wedding accommodations and Badger sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Mansion Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hill Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing