We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I was able to have my wedding at the Livingston Inn! This was perfect for a vintage, white tent wedding. I know and love the area around the inn with the beautiful park and lake, walking distance to the capital, and the unique Johnson street stores. My family rented out the Inn for the weekend, which allowed me to explore how every room was unique with access to the same great amenities. The Mendota room was so spacious. Peggy and Dave were so helpful and supportive with the family and the event. I highly recommend the Livingston Inn for a short solo stay or for a family event!

Room Tip: One room did have a secret door to another room. I could see this being great for parents and older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
136
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Simply stated - a beautiful home with wonderful owners! My boyfriend and I have stated at other bed and breakfasts and this by far was our favorite! We stated in the William T. Leitch room. It was comfortable, charming, and updated with an amazing shower (excellent water-pressure!) and Aveda products. Peggy and Dave were a wonderful wealth of knowledge of the history of the home as well as giving ideas of what to see and do in Madison. They made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. It is in an ideal location being just a mile from campus, the capitol, farmers market, Lake Mendota and more. We just loved it and look forward to going back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have been to Madison many times, but feel very lucky to have discovered this wonderful historic house with a charming hostess. We were in the maid's room and had our own little sitting room just outside the bedroom. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the breakfast scrumptious. One could easily walk to Lake Mendota or downtown for the Concerts on the Square or to the Farmer's Market. My husband and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the Livingston Inn in early July for four nights in the William T. Leitch room. It faces the front and the street but it was very quiet inside the room. The bathroom with shower was very clean and the Aveda products provided were a nice touch. Fun to watch Ella the house dog run around in the yard in the morning. If you enjoy reading about Historic Inns and their original owners there was information about the Leitch family in the room. Water in a carafe is provided in the room. The owners Peggy and Dave were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We were in Madison visiting our daughter and her boyfriend who recently moved to the area. Peggy was very gracious and invited them both to breakfast the next morning. The Inn has many lovely areas to sit and relax. The garden in the back of the green house was beautiful and you can walk from there on a path which leads you to a small dock on Lake Mendota. Good location for a nice walk into downtown. A tasty robust coffee is ready early if you need that caffeine fix before breakfast. A delicious hot dish was available along with bacon, fruit and granola, muffins and juice for breakfast. It was serve yourself which is nice because you can eat as much or as little as you want. If you like Historic Inns "The Livingston Inn" is a wonderful choice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeattleBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Livingston in July 2014, our first visit to Madison. The inn itself is lovely, with beautiful grounds and tastefully decorated rooms. It is close to downtown, a longish walk to campus, one block from Lake Mendota, and just a couple of blocks from a rack of B-cycles, which are very convenient for riding around town. Peggy was a gracious hostess, with dining and sight-seeing suggestions if you like, and delicious food for breakfast. The glass of wine in the evening was nice touch!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay if you enjoy historic homes, comfortable rooms and a great host. We spent a weekend there in July and had a wonderful time. From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome and very comfortable. Our room was outstanding and very quiet. Peggy was very accommodating and even invited our kids, who live in Madison, to come to breakfast. We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Livingston Inn for a couple of days over the 4th of July weekend. Peggy was warm, gracious and ready with suggestions for things to do and restaurants to visit. We have done a lot of traveling in Madison and thus know the area and had our plans which were accommodated by the location. The Inn is located in great walking distance of the University, Capital and Monona Terrace area so if you do not want to drive anywhere you have access to many features of Madison. We were looking for a quiet weekend with some down time and a place that would be comfortable should the weather not cooperate; the Inn was a perfect match! The grounds are lovely with a sitting area on the front porch, back patio and by the lake. We spent time in all three areas relaxing and reading. We stayed in the Harding Hideaway and the room was perfect for the two of us; quiet, comfortable and we felt away from any activity in the Inn. The bath has a rain shower and the bed is very comfortable and the room and Inn have a great mix of traditional and modern decoration. We found our stay to be relaxing and refreshing; the atmosphere made us feel as though we were among friends and at a home away from home. My husband in particular travels a great deal and actually had two lovely days of rest and relaxation and was delighted with the Inn over a hotel. The breakfasts were lovely with many choices of home baked dishes and good conversation. We highly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a place to stay that is homey, comfortable and suited to relaxing. We are already thinking about a winter weekend at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 752 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing