We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely room...Breakfast to die for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Lovely room...Breakfast to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at many B & B's over the years and have stayed in great and not so great places. The Livingston Inn is right up there with the best of Europe and the US. The staff was caring and attentive without being overbearing. They gave me good advise on Madison attractions. The home and my room/suite was beautifully appointed.

This was not a normal B & B continental breakfast. I was served wonderful french toast....eggs as I asked for them with crisp bacon as well as fresh fruit and all the other items one would expect from a first class breakfast. Even was given a copy of the local paper and the New York Times. Breakfast nirvana for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
116
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morristown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent a fabulous week-end at the Livingston Inn in October - could not have been better! Highly recommend the Inn to everyone. it was our first visit back to Madison since graduating in 1984 - we brought our two teen-agers along as well. Peggy and Dave were gracious, informative and made us all feel so comfortable. Next time we are back we will definitely be staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Peggy made us feel at home, took care of all of our needs - including knowing the local restaurant scene. Highlights: great breakfast, charming building, luxury amenities. 20 minute walk to campus along the lake helped burn off the great breakfast.

Room Tip: Ours was Medota Room. View of lake with gas fireplace. Very nice. Be sure you can navigate a stairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timhiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Anyone heading to Madison, Wisconsin should consider staying at The Livingston Inn if they can get in. If there is no availability, you should change the dates of travel. We stayed in the Garden House..the room has 11 sky lights. It was so cool during a very rainy night. The view of the sunset over Lake Mendota was beautiful and the heart of Madison is just a 10 minute walk. Peggy suggested two restaurants and we went to both: Fore Quarter and Graze...both fabulous. The breakfasts at the Inn were wonderful and we met some great people from Chicago, Washington D.C. and Las Vegas. Peggy and Dave could not have been more charming hosts. When we go back we will most certainly stay at the Livingston Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nweigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Livingston Inn a couple of weeks ago and we had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Garden house, which is a separate one-room house in the backyard. The view on the lake is breathtaking and it's surrounded by gardens. Peggy and Dave are wonderful hosts and treated us like family. It felt like home. The gourmet breakfast and pastries were delicious. Not to mention their adorable and very smart puppy. We had such a lovely time. Thank you !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding night and LOVED it!!!! The room was beautiful, and the hosts were very gracious!!! We were looking for a cute place in downtown Madison besides the Mansion Hill Inn and feel like it was every bit as awesome as we had hoped! Thank you!!! The breakfast food was pretty tasty, and they were very helpful in trying to make dinner reservations for us. The room was very cozy and romantic, and the garden view was wonderful.We would recommend to anyone looking for that kind of spot,and we wouldn't trade it for a big hotel suite any day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Most excellent bed and breakfast with friendly and informative hosts, beautifully appointed decor and furnishings--soft bedding and a smart puppy dog!! Everything I ever wanted in a quiet leisure stay! Plus gourmet breakfast w/ fresh pastries and coffee!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
2.0 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 752 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing