We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
257
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mendotaother guestsprivate pierswedish pancakesgothic revivalhideaway roombreakfast was deliciousmodern conveniencescomplimentary glass of wineb bsrestaurant suggestionswonderful hostsbed and breakfasta lovely staymin walkwe loved our staylovely room
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 269 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Besides the charm & beauty of this home, the comfort of the rooms & all the little extras (to die for chocolates) that make it amazing - Peggy & Dave go above & beyond to really make your stay special. The breakfast part of this B & B was something we really looked forward to each morning. With this being our first Bed & Breakfast experience we weren't too sure but after a great weekend we have no regrets, we really enjoyed ourselves & look forward to visiting again in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lopezs0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The William Leitch house, a Gothic revival manse built in 1857-58 by a Civil War era mayor, is one of Madison's most important 19th century landmarks. (When my 3-year-old grandson who lives nearby walked in, he exclaimed, "This is a NICE place!" ;) Its gracious owners, Peggy and Dave Furlan, are delighted to "show and tell" interested Livingston Inn B&B guests about its lavish architectural features and the several prominent civic leaders who have lived there. In addition, they have made it supremely comfortable with plush bedding, flat-screen TV and wi-fi in the rooms and upscale bath fixtures and amenities. Their breakfast buffet, served to order in the lovely dining room, is ample and delicious. Then, with only 8 blocks to the Capitol square or the University of Wisconsin, you can walk it off. The Inn also offers access to Lake Mendota for year-round sports. Very nice, indeed!

Room Tip: Ask Peggy to help you select a room to fit your wants and needs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGH44Washington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We spent three nights here when we traveled from Philadelphia to attend our daughter's dissertation defense at the university. Our daughter and son-in-law leave across the street from the Inn so they suggested we stay here. What a wonderful choice it was. The house is charming and with great historical significance. Wonderful appointments, comfortable rooms and warm and welcoming service from Peggy and Dave. They went out of their way to make us feel right at home and even let us use the charming livingroom of the Inn to host a small reception for a number of our daughter's friends. Breakfast was wonderful and we especially appreciated the lat night cookies. And to top it off, Peggy insisted on getting up before the crack of dawn to make us a take out breakfast because we had a very early flight. We highly recommend the Livingston Inn and look forward to a future stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alg80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I did a one night get-a-way at the Livingston Inn over the Holidays and it was wonderful! We live in the Madison area and are so glad we checked it out because now we have a wonderful place to have friends and family stay that we know they will just LOVE! The Inn itself has great history and a fantastic location. I can not say enough about the owners, Peggy and Dave! They are the most gracious hosts from the wine hour, to the wonderful conversations, to the amazing breakfast.This place has the whole package. I can not wait for our next one night get-a-way!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank So_worth_it_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at the Livingston Inn one night after Christmas. We truly enjoyed our stay. The food was delicious, the room and property were beautiful, the wine hour was wonderful, and we really enjoyed getting to know Peggy and Dave. They were so friendly and accommodating - we were sad our stay was only one night! The location is great for any downtown activities, and we would highly recommend the Livingston Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: The Mendota room was wonderful- very comfortable bed and great view of the Lake. It also had a beautiful fire place.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callimatzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews