We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice in Madison”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Livingston Inn far exceeds expectations. The location is ideal and the home is cozy yet fabulous. Our room was beautifully decorated and offered every amenity. The propriotors were beyond gracious and very helpful in navigating the town and offering great suggestions. Peggy even drove us to a restaurant when the cab didn't arrive on time. The food was very good. A+ in every respect!

Room Tip: More privacy in the single room on the left side of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

What a wonderful and relaxing weekend!!! My wife and I spent the last weekend in July as a memory of our 21st wedding anniversary. Had our scooters with us the entire weekend and had such a fun time scooting over to the Farmers Market and State Steet. The Livingston is in such close proximity to the sights of downtown Madison and the University of Wisconsin.
What a great time!!

Jan and Marilyn

Room Tip: The General Pickering Room definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Livingston for our anniversary weekend. The house itself is stately and elegant yet our room was updated, clean and very comfortable. I especially enjoyed the tea tree hair products in the shower! We had a view of the lake which was lovely. Peggy recommended a great restaurant close by and made us reservations which made our stay even more relaxing. In the evening we had a glass of wine from the Inn and enjoyed it on the dock on the lake overlooking the sunset. Wonderful! The location is great too. We brought our bikes and rode to the farmers market, UWM campus and to lunch. Breakfast at the Inn was super yummy. Homemade egg dish, granola and biscotti and fruit and sausage. Just a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillpt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our experience at The Livingston Inn was fantastic. The historic home is elegant and comfortable as well. The hosts are awesome. These delightful people served delicious breakfast and an early evening wine hour, as well as providing local tourist information and good conversation. We enjoyed sharing the breakfast table with other guests. The location is perfect for visiting Madison. Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Staying at the Livingston Inn was an amazing experience. The atmosphere was relaxed, comfortable and welcoming. Rooms were extremely clean, beds were comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The owners, Peggy and Dave, were gracious and accomodating to my busy schedule. I felt when I left their home, I had made new friends. Their family made it a first class experience and I will return when traveling to Madison on business.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Clean, cozy, great food, parking, tranquil, and the owners take care of you like you are family.

Plus the location is perfect for anything you want to do around the lakefront, campus area, or elsewhere.

Check it out, its the best kept secret on the Lake.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackwatch681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les cinq chambres sont ravissantes et aussi confortables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liliane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.5 mi away
Mansion Hill Inn
Mansion Hill Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Address: 752 E Gorham St, Madison, WI 53703-1522
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: $222 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Livingston Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of a 160-year old Gothic revival mansion in one of the most eclectic cities in North America. Feel at home on your next getaway or business trip with the warmth and charm of Midwestern hospitality. Discover The Livingston Inn -- a Madison bed & breakfast as unique and friendly as the city itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livingston Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing