We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy brasserie”

Brasserie V - Neighborhood Eatery & Tap Room
Ranked #31 of 995 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Palo Alto, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfy brasserie”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stopped here after flying into Madison from CA. The wait staff are exceedingly friendly and attentive.

We liked our beer and wine. The kids liked their black cherry and vanilla bean sodas.

We started with crispy chickpeas. Yummy.

We tried the steak and frites, blta, hamburger and cheesy apple panini. All good.

Dessert was local chocolates and vanilla pot de creme. Just the right size.

The ambience is so nice. Laid back, lots of wood and open space. Bustling but not deafening. Will probably eat here again on this trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaloVerdeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    71
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best French Fries in Town”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've been to this restaurant three times now. They have recently expanded and the service can be a little slow. However, the food is really excellent. They have some very nice menu items, and have small plates as well as larger fare. I've had their Croque Monsieur with an egg on top, tomato basil soup, their version of a BLT, and beef barley soup. All of it was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Low key atmosphere, world class consumables”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After seeing great reviews of this place online, I drove about a half mile past it before deciding to turn around and try it. So glad I did. The special of the day was a turkey sandwich with cumin marinated veggies, caramelized onions and spiced cream cheese. It was honestly one of the best sandwiches I've ever had in my life.

The beer selection is second to none, I had two great beers and lunch for $21, unbeatable. . . unbelievable.

Try.this.place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better Steak Friets than I had in Belgium”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

An unlikely find in Midwest American. Great selection of Belgian beer, many on tap. Very good service. Really good food! We were recently in Brugge, Belgium and I had a better steak friets here! Amazing. I definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RML1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were here for dinner which was very good. This is really all about the meal and drinks. As for dessert, there are much better places for dessert. But, we will definitely come here again for a meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceebee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie V - Neighborhood Eatery & Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie V - Neighborhood Eatery & Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing