We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, authentic bistro food”

Brasserie V - Neighborhood Eatery & Tap Room
Ranked #37 of 990 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic bistro food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stumbled into this place by happy chance after having a glass of wine at Barriques (also delightful) next door. The atmosphere was a cross between a rustic Parisian bistro and a swanky American diner. The beer selection was incredible, and the bartender selected something delicious for us after we requested a recommendation for a Trappist beer. No one in the world makes a beer quite like a Belgian monk. We both ordered steak frites, and it was amazing, classic French/Belgian comfort food. The steak was melt-in-your mouth, the fries were hand cut and had a delicious garlic sauce. Everything was unbelievable and the price was very reasonable. Can't wait to get back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagogirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    71
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best beer selection around”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Garlic fries were amazing. Great beer selection - bottled and on tap. Pricey, but that's what's to be expected with imported Belgian beers! :). Burgers were good. Bottled root beer had a pretty unusual flavor (kids didn't care for it. I tried it and wouldn't ever place the flavor as root beer.) kids grilled cheese wasn't great.

Good service, nice decor, beautiful bar and the fries, burgers and beer made the place for us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaundreaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the vibe in this place!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our final stop on the Monroe Street Walking Food Tour with Madison Food Explorers. We got to sample their house beer -- the Belgian St. Bernardus Abt 12. Very good. Also their best selling Moules-Frites -- a huge bowl of mussels with a delicious garlicy/buttery broth served with amazing fries. We learned about the yeasts of Belgium on our tour next door at the Wine and Hop so it was fun to try the beer. Love the little room to play vinyl!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AASparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Best Belgian beer selection in town and the food is good too. I like the Ahi Tuna sandwich or the duck breast when they have it. Locally owned with friendly wait staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“something different”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Belgian Ales galore and and so many more beers from around the world, a fine wine selection, and a seasonal menu created and prepared by a talented kitchen staff... all in a warm, frirendly atmosphere. This is one of the best restaurants in Madison.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie V - Neighborhood Eatery & Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie V - Neighborhood Eatery & Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing