We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place with delicious food”
Review of Bunky’s Cafe - CLOSED

Bunky’s Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Bunky's Was started in the early 1930's by Teresa's great Grandparents. Vito & Ninfa Capadona opened Bunky's on the corner of Park & Regent street in the Italian "Green Bush" area. After closing in the mid 1970's. Teresa and her husband Rachid opened in 2003. They included Rachid's Mediterranean - Moroccan cuisine to the menu! Bunky's cafe just celebrated its tenth Birthday this year! As the owners of Bunky's cafe, we feel very blessed to have a successful restaurant in Madison Wi. We will keep offering fresh, local and sustainable made from scratch menus! We have just started offering our Homemade Hummus, Baba Ghanouj, Grape leaves and Falalfel at area grocery stores. Please come and join us for dinner!
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Funky place with delicious food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Don't let the exterior fool you. Go inside! Bring a friend. The food was wonderful (had Chicken Schwarma lunch plate and it was enough for at least two people, even though I did eat the whole thing). Friendly service. Comfortable atmosphere. Will definitely need to go back -- plus, the desserts looked incredible (but did I mention I ate the WHOLE lunch plate).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EpicureanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    35
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Bunky's is a funky little place on Madison's trendy east side. This is run by a Madison couple with great culinary roots. Teresa has deep Italian roots, and her husband Rashid's Mediterranean cuisine is amazing! Teresa's great grandfather had the original Bunky's and was the first restaurant in Madison to serve pizza. Highlights at Bunky's are the homemade pasta and the super flavorful sauces. We are always intrigued by the ravioli of the day. We have loved the lobster ravioli and the butternut squash ravioli as well. The pizza is great as well. Bunky's special is our go to. My absolute favorite dish is the Chicken Shawarma. So light and flavorful! The side of grilled veggies and hummus are awesome as well. They also are the best in town for any one who needs to eat gluton free. Wonderful food and great service every time we go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank madcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Spagetti on the Board”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Before we visited Madison, our cousin, who had previously visited, told us that we had to go to Bunky's and get "spaghetti on the board." We were intrigued, and made reservations. Spaghetti on the board consists of a delicious dinner of spaghetti and meatballs, garlic bread, a salad, a glass of wine (or soda for the kids) and a cannoli, all for the price of $15.95 per person ($8.95 for kids 12 and under). The friendly waiter brought our salads, garlic bread, and drinks first, which were very good. Then, he warned us the spaghetti on the board gets messy. The wait staff cleared our salad plates and gave us napkins to line the table with, so the sauce would not get on our laps. The table was covered by a giant plastic board, with rims along the edges, to keep everything on the table. The waiter came back with a giant bowl of pasta and made a nest with it. Then, he returned with a huge bowl of sauce and meatballs. The picture below should give you an idea of what it looked like, before we dug in. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was pleasant. After the spaghetti fest, the cannolis were a perfect end to the meal. Bunky's Cafe is a yummy and fun experience for people of all ages! And I would recommend spaghetti on the board!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
51 Thank reviewsforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Homey and delicious”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Bunky's is a great find, with a Mediterranean/Italian menu, you're sure to find something for any taste. My personal favorite is the Chicken Schwarma, served with rice, pita, hummus and grilled veggies, it's enough for a couple of meals. My hubs' favorite is the chicken caesar salad, topped with marinated grilled chicken. Service is friendly and efficient, the owners are great people and the pricing is reasonable. One word- it's beer/wine only, but the dessert case makes up for the lack of alcohol options!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissDiaz-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great place for everyone's taste. Visiting our son at UWMadison, wanted to go somewhere different than pizza. Everything was great - be sure to order dessert! Son ordered lamb kabobs, daughter had spaghetti/meatballs, I had Chicken Marska, hubba had lasagna. Everyone loved what they had. Between Mediterranean and Italian, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMH109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunky’s Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing