We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We came for a less than 24 hour stop in Madison last week. It was a great time. The room was clean, the front desk staff was nice and we had no issues whatsoever. The only downside was that there wasn't a microwave in our room. Luckily, I found one in the pool area on a table! Otherwise, we enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: Being on the 2nd floor was great! We were able to just use the beautiful staircase and it was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraGollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    216
    100
    41
    18
See reviews for
137
134
29
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Close to campus and facing the Capitol, the Inn on the Park offers big and immaculate rooms with cramped bathrooms and depressing hallways. Doors to the rooms look as if they were salvaged from a missile silo. Internet service was fast, "free" and reliable - but the room that I was in lacked a desk, despite its abundant square-footage. Service was friendly and competent. At some point, Best Western will gut this place and restore it to what I'm guessing was its former glory. For now, it's an okay place to spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fennimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Inn on the Park had a spectacular view of the WI Capitol Building across the street. We enjoyed the proximity to the Farmer's Market on Sat. morning, easy access to a walk by the lake, shopping on State St. and very comfortable accommodations. Breakfast in the restaurant was reasonable and tasty and great for three children 6 and under. The night cap in the lounge was a great end to a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Located right on the Square so, it is convenient to walk anywhere. My only "complaint" was that it was difficult to figure out where to pull in with your vehicle when first arriving. I had a great room on the 5th floor with a nice balcony. Nice little surprise. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawano, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this hotel, and I had high hopes. Then we got there. My husband booked a "king suite". I expected something more roomy then what we got. The room was incredibly cramped and claustrophobic. The view was the top of some dumpy building. I felt like I was on an episode of "House Hunters International" in a country I wouldn't consider moving to. We did get a different room on the 9th floor with a Capitol view. The view was very beautiful. The room was much bigger and better. However, the bed was stiff. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. One of the windows was cloudy- very very cloudy. I felt the overall decor in this hospital was very old and too hoity toity for me. Overall out stay was "ok" but I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonbon282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Bonbon282, thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. It sounds like a mistake may have been made and you were not given the room you had booked originally. I apologize for that and am glad that our desk staff was able to make it right for you. Thank you for giving us that opportunity. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great place to stay on the park; farmers market every Saturday 8am - 2PM right out the hotel doorstep. Valet parking was easy and convenient. Very clean hotel. The driving can be tricky in Madison but this hotel is situated so you do not need to drive that much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank donald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here during a conference held at the Monona Terrace conference center. Had a standard king room on the 6th floor facing away from the street. The room was large, comfortable, and very quiet even though the hotel was fully booked. Everything was clean and in good shape. The internet connection was reliable and fast most of the time, though it did seem to develop problems every night around 10-11pm. Being right on the Capitol square, there are lots of cafes, restaurants and bars within easy reach, including one (the Great Dane Pub) that has english-style cask ales on tap! There is also a great cheese shop right next door that sells local cheeses, which gave me a reason to use the in-room fridge. The convention center is an easy 10 minute walk away, and the hotel runs a convenient, free shuttle to/from the airport.

Only quibble: the AC in my room was a tad noisy and not all that efficient.

Room Tip: Apparently there are rooms on the higher floors from which one has lake views. None were available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ_Happy_Trails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Happy Trails, thank you for visiting us from Arizona! I'm glad you were able to visit some of our neighbors including the world-famous Fromagination and that you found the pleasant walk to the convention center to be convenient for you. I hope you will visit again. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Address: 22 S Carroll St, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing