We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Portage, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Views”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have stayed at Inn on the Park numerous times over the years and our favorite rooms are the ones facing the Capitol building. The last time we stayed though, we had a really small room with a view of the roof, an exhaust fan and a cooling unit of some kind. The price was rather expensive for such a small room in my opinion. The staff were friendly. I noticed for the first time the huge gap under the door. I was really surprised by this and was really annoyed when some boisterous gentlemen went into their room across the hall. We heard them talking and at times yelling way into the night. Being in the HVAC business, I understand why the gap is there, but be warned, it may be noisy depending on who your neighbor is.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Robyn - Thank you for staying with us as a loyal repeat guest. I am sorry this stay was disrupted by noisy neighbors. I hope we can welcome you back for a more restful stay soon. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    240
    107
    45
    19
See reviews for
165
147
33
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I thought the hotel was nicely decorated and the staff was very cordial! The bed was comfy and there was a frig for my use. I like being by the pool and didn't hear any noise on a Monday night. The free valet was my favorite service. It can be frustrating to find a parking spot in any downtown area, so great to just drive in and hand over the keys!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Lynn, we love to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and that the amenities in your room and at the hotel made your visit a great one. I hope we'll see you again soon. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Falls, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have stayed at The Inn on the Park numerous times. Generally have a very good experience. Rooms are clean. Have had some issues being placed near noisy equipment (ice machine, elevator, roof vents). Had an awesome experience with my last stay when I had trouble with my car and the Assistant General Manager, Paul Podehl, went out of his way to get me on my way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Jean, on behalf of Paul you are very welcome for the assistance with your car and we're glad we were able to help. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and will happily welcome you back soon. Thank you for posting the kind words about Paul. I know that will make his day! -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Make sure and request NOT to stay in room 414. There is literally no pace to set up the ironing board. The location of this hotel is great, however I have never stayed in a room that is so small you can hardly turn around in it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gailoneenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Gailoneenah, thank you for staying with us at Inn on the Park for your recent visit to Madison. I am sorry that your room didn't meet your needs. We do have a variety of room types and sizes in our historic property and we're happy to switch you to another room if there is one available. I hope you will visit us again. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here for a wedding. This was the hotel chosen by the bride & groom to accommodate guests, as both bride and groom had just about all of their family & friends in from out of state. I would say at least 50 people were staying at this hotel. We drove 10 hours to get there, and arrived at about 9pm. First, upon arrival, we were FORCED to have our vehicle valeted. All of the valet staff looked to be about 18-20 years of age. This made us uncomfortable for several reasons. We had TONS of stuff in our car for the wedding. All of this had to be unpacked right then. We had not prepped our vehicle for valet service (had check book in the glove box, valuable electronic equipment in vehicle, etc). On top of that, they began to help unloading our things onto the curb, and said there would be a car availible shortly. This was November, and it was FREEZING outside. So we had to stand with our things and wait until a cart was ready. We walked in the lobby to check in, and were told our room was not ready yet. Seriously?? It was 9PM and check in time was 4PM!!! The man told us to have a seat and he would let us know when the room was ready, in a half an hour. We waited 40 minutes, sitting in the lobby, greeting members of our family as the passed through the lobby, watching our cart full of belongings, and were never told the room was ready. So we finally approached the desk and asked when it would be ready. He then decided to tell us it was ready!! So we finally go to our room. When we opened the door, we got a gust of cold breeze and the smell of air freshner. It was FREEZING in the room. 50 Degrees. We immediately turned the heat up. A few minutes later we realized that window was open. Why would a window be open in the middle of November??? We didnt know. Other than that, our stay was fine. The room itself was HUGE (possibly got upgraded, not sure?). It was a corner room, kind of circular shape. Windows wrapped all the way around the wall. Had a great view of the capital. The bed was comfy, water pressure was fine. Food in the hotel restaurant was FANTASTIC! There were several bars and shops within walking distance. Also, in the fall on Saturday mornings, there is a farmers market right in front of the hotel on the square. Very cool! And the girls in the salon were also very nice. They fixed my hair for the wedding and it looked great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
EastCoastAn, I appreciate your feedback and the time you took to provide it. I am truly sorry that you had such a difficult check-in and I am happy that your visit improved for the rest of your stay. I'm glad the staff of Cinema salon did a great job for you and I hope you enjoyed the wedding. Please visit us again when you're in Madison. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel has the most amazing views and you could not be in an more ideal location for fun and convenience. You are walking distance from fabulous food and great places to shop. The staff is amazing and goes above and beyond every time I am there. Shuttle service to and from the airport is easy and ideal. Valet parking is also a great service which is included in your rate. Internet is also included and always fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Rachel, thank you for your feedback and for being a loyal guest. I'm happy to hear our internet works well for you. It will soon work even better as we're increasing our bandwidth shortly. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were a bit taken a back by the snippiness of the front desk girl at check in. When I asked what my rate was to confirm that it was the same I had made my reservation at, she replied..."Whatever you booked it at". My husband and I were take a back by her tone. I asked her to give me the rate, as I wanted to confirm it was the right amount. It was her co worker that front desk that printed directions and gave us a friendly demeanor and information about where we were going. The Bell Stand was VERY helpful as well. Chris was a very friendly young man that got us to our destination and back, with information about the City of Wisc. The hotel was clean and the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maripat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Maripat01, I am truly sorry that you did not receive the warm welcome you deserved at our front desk. I promise you that this will be addressed with the staff involved. I will also be sharing your feedback regarding Chris and the others that you encountered as an example of what our standards for service are. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. -George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Address: 22 South Carroll Street, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing