We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Check In Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here for a wedding. This was the hotel chosen by the bride & groom to accommodate guests, as both bride and groom had just about all of their family & friends in from out of state. I would say at least 50 people were staying at this hotel. We drove 10 hours to get there, and arrived at about 9pm. First, upon arrival, we were FORCED to have our vehicle valeted. All of the valet staff looked to be about 18-20 years of age. This made us uncomfortable for several reasons. We had TONS of stuff in our car for the wedding. All of this had to be unpacked right then. We had not prepped our vehicle for valet service (had check book in the glove box, valuable electronic equipment in vehicle, etc). On top of that, they began to help unloading our things onto the curb, and said there would be a car availible shortly. This was November, and it was FREEZING outside. So we had to stand with our things and wait until a cart was ready. We walked in the lobby to check in, and were told our room was not ready yet. Seriously?? It was 9PM and check in time was 4PM!!! The man told us to have a seat and he would let us know when the room was ready, in a half an hour. We waited 40 minutes, sitting in the lobby, greeting members of our family as the passed through the lobby, watching our cart full of belongings, and were never told the room was ready. So we finally approached the desk and asked when it would be ready. He then decided to tell us it was ready!! So we finally go to our room. When we opened the door, we got a gust of cold breeze and the smell of air freshner. It was FREEZING in the room. 50 Degrees. We immediately turned the heat up. A few minutes later we realized that window was open. Why would a window be open in the middle of November??? We didnt know. Other than that, our stay was fine. The room itself was HUGE (possibly got upgraded, not sure?). It was a corner room, kind of circular shape. Windows wrapped all the way around the wall. Had a great view of the capital. The bed was comfy, water pressure was fine. Food in the hotel restaurant was FANTASTIC! There were several bars and shops within walking distance. Also, in the fall on Saturday mornings, there is a farmers market right in front of the hotel on the square. Very cool! And the girls in the salon were also very nice. They fixed my hair for the wedding and it looked great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoastAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

EastCoastAn, I appreciate your feedback and the time you took to provide it. I am truly sorry that you had such a difficult check-in and I am happy that your visit improved for the rest of your stay. I'm glad the staff of Cinema salon did a great job for you and I hope you enjoyed the wedding. Please visit us again when you're in Madison. -George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 764 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel has the most amazing views and you could not be in an more ideal location for fun and convenience. You are walking distance from fabulous food and great places to shop. The staff is amazing and goes above and beyond every time I am there. Shuttle service to and from the airport is easy and ideal. Valet parking is also a great service which is included in your rate. Internet is also included and always fast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Rachel, thank you for your feedback and for being a loyal guest. I'm happy to hear our internet works well for you. It will soon work even better as we're increasing our bandwidth shortly. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were a bit taken a back by the snippiness of the front desk girl at check in. When I asked what my rate was to confirm that it was the same I had made my reservation at, she replied..."Whatever you booked it at". My husband and I were take a back by her tone. I asked her to give me the rate, as I wanted to confirm it was the right amount. It was her co worker that front desk that printed directions and gave us a friendly demeanor and information about where we were going. The Bell Stand was VERY helpful as well. Chris was a very friendly young man that got us to our destination and back, with information about the City of Wisc. The hotel was clean and the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Maripat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Maripat01, I am truly sorry that you did not receive the warm welcome you deserved at our front desk. I promise you that this will be addressed with the staff involved. I will also be sharing your feedback regarding Chris and the others that you encountered as an example of what our standards for service are. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. -George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is our 2nd time staying here. A perfect location for the event we attended and for walking distance to some very delicious restaurants. Well priced and free parking. Right in front of the Capital - it's a nice view. The walls are a bit thin, so when there is a loud group outside, you may be awakened.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yogamaria5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Yogamaria5 - Thank you for coming back to stay with us again and for leaving your feedback for others to benefit from. We'll be happy to welcome you back again. -George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and good service. Our room was clean, and nicely appointed. Despite the fact that it was a busy Saturday night for the hotel, we slept well. The check-in clerk did his best to give my kids and I a quiet room with a great view. I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank SusieKay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Mamasuekitty - thank you for choosing to stay with us for your time in Madison. I'm glad that our front desk staff found the right room for your needs. It's not always possible to meet everyone's requests but we certainly try! Please visit again. George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A group of us girls went to Madison for a weekend away from reality (we’re from small town MN). We had a WONDERFUL TIME that started the minute we checked in on Friday. Rob at the front desk was great – upgraded our room at no charge and did it with a smile! We got great recommendations on where to dine and shop and dance! We spent one of the evenings at the hotel bar and had a great time! (Shout out to Jasmine – AWESOME bartender! Or as we like to call her “Jazzy-J”) Thanks again to Jasmine and Rob for taking such good care of us!!
Looking forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: Room 804 was spacious and had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieU52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Katie, I'm so happy to hear our staff helped make your stay enjoyable. I hope you will join us again on your next weekend away. -George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding party. I loved that parking is free for guests! The staff was friendly and attentive and allowed me to check in really early. The room was clean, quiet, and cozy. The bed was quite comfortable. The location cannot be beat, it is close to everything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank triciajo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Triciajo, thank you so much for your feedback and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are not always able to accommodate an early check-in but we provide it whenever we can. I hope we can welcome you back again soon! -George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 63 in Madison
743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Address: 22 S Carroll St, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $141 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing