We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but a tad cold...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is very nice with its great location across from the Wisconsin Capital. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean but a tad cold. Couldn't get the heat above 66 degrees. Makes it a great place to chill...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpaj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your sense of humor and are happy to provide you a place to "chill", however, we do take all of our customer feedback seriously. The hotel experienced an equipment failure that caused the heating to malfunction. I have worked with senior management and maintenance staff to implement processes that will ensure this problem will not happen again. I am contacting you privately to discuss your visit. Thank you again for posting your feedback. We hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 772 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Madison. A great location with valet service to boot.
The rooms are average, the front desk staff is less than eager to help, but forget about that as if you are in Madison and if you need a decent hotel at a decent price stay here!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the top floor and facing the capital. great views to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very disappointing room conditions: very small, TV channels were sporadic, HVAC in the room wasn't working well. In addition, our room was tiny and the bathroom was especially small. The toilet had to be offset off the wall so that it was nearly in the middle of the room.

On the plus side, fantastic location right on capital square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasGuy4406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I apologize that your stay was not ideal. I hope you will consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to town so that we may have another chance to provide you the excellent service and accomodations we're so proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Close to State Capital ; excellent Valet service with ramp and enclosed parking structure for added security and convenience. Short walk to State Street and variety of restaurants, bars, museum, and shops. Farmer's Market (Spring - Fall) across the street from hotel. Nice pool and workout area - poolside rooms available.

Room Tip: poolside room nice for familes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great location to enjoy dowtown Madison. Staff was helpful and friendly. Parking was very handy no charge for parking was a plus. Room was large enough for two couples.pool was clean and kept up Will be back.


  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kitchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

It sounds like you and your guests had a fun time here in downtown Madison. Glad we could be your homebase. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank CORY L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spotlessly clean hotel in the center of Madison right next to the beautiful Wisconsin State Capitol building. Right next to shopping, restaurants, bars. Very friendly and accommodating staff. I stayed at the hotel and took the free hotel shuttle to Epic In Verona.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmfitzpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Best Western Premier Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

I'm so glad you took the time to post your review. I enjoyed meeting you and learning about your travels. The complimentary Epic shuttle to Verona is a win-win because while it allows our guests to be within walking distance of dozens of bars, restaurants and shops while still making it out to the Epic campus as needed it also gives us at the hotel a chance to get to know our guests a little better. Thanks for staying with us and I look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 63 in Madison
746 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Address: 22 S Carroll St, Madison, WI 53703-3309 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $118 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Premier Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Park Hotel stands as a reflection of Madison's history and growth as a city. The only hotel on Madison's Capitol Square, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is an icon of hospitality and a true symbol of downtown Madison. The Capitol Square is home to such popular seasonal attractions as the Dane County Farmer's Market, Art Fair on the Square and Concerts on the Square. Only blocks from the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus, Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Monona Terrace Convention Center, Overture Center for Performing Arts, and the Kohl Center, Best Western Premier Park Hotel is your best way to experience the best of Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn On The Park Hotel Madison
Best Western Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing