We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stay at this hotel primarily because of it's proximity to the hospital where I frequently work when visiting Madison.

The hotel is very nice with lots of amenities that are more costly at other hotels of this quality.

Their recent renovation is very nice and has made my experience staying there so much nicer.

Room Tip: If you are in the Best Western Rewards Program, request the Highland Club level which has the most r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    237
    82
    32
    23
See reviews for
304
96
54
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and it is practically perfect. The beds and food are top notch. The staff is unbeatable in friendliness, helpfulness, appearance and professionalism. The location is great for those with business at UW-Madison either by walking (10-15 minutes) or with the hotel's complimentary shuttle which is highly preferable over trying to park anywhere near the university (just don't!). We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Jonathan K,
Thank you for sharing your experience (and great advice on parking!) with the InnTowner with others on TripAdvisor! We look forward to hosting you and your family here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed in Best Western Hotels for years and this should not be a PLUS it should be a standard hotel. Our room did have a flat screen TV and a keurig coffee maker and a fancy IPOD alarm BUT we would rather have had an upgraded airconditioning unit that was more efficient and less noisy and we couldnt even put the light/fan on in bathroom as the noise was so loud and annoying. These little things are what makes a long stay more pleasurable ( we stayed 5 days) not the electronics!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear JL,
Thank you for taking the time to review The InnTowner on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that the ventilation wasn't keeping up with the hot July weather. We agree that many of the fans need to be replaced, and that is happening during the final stages of the remodel throughout 2015. We hope you return to enjoy the new bathrooms and fans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here for a wedding (this was the official wedding hotel) and everything was...OK. Nothing great, nothing horrible. The bed was OK, the room was on the small side, and the bathroom was tiny. The free breakfast was probably the best part of the hotel. The bar was small but reasonably priced for a hotel lounge. I didn't dislike my stay here, but I also wouldn't consider staying here again. The parking situation was not great; no covered or protected parking was available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Christopher H.
Thank you for reviewing the Best Western InnTowner when you stayed with us in July. That happened to be during our renovation so I can understand why you were underwhelmed. The makeover is complete and we continue to make improvements and change details so we are less than average going forward. We hope you give us another try on your next visit to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We blocked many rooms at this hotel for our wedding. Chris, in the sales department, was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Most of our guests had a good experience, with the exception of the shuttle service and its availability. The recent renovations were nice, overall. The bathroom/tub area in the suite was a bit small, but the rest of the space was perfect. Plenty of room for my bridal party, a few family members and me to get ready. Comfy beds and quiet atmosphere made for a couple nights of good sleep. I am glad this hotel was comfortable and affordable for all of our guests. I would recommend this to other groups if being downtown isn't a big deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Gina F,
Congratulations again on your marriage! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed the group booking process and am happy to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the renovations. A second phase in the renovation will be the bathrooms and is planned for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my first stay at the Best Western PLUS InnTowner. The rooms were nice and the bed was comfortable. The shower did not drain when I first used it, but maintenance fixed it quickly once I brought it to their attention. The shuttle service was a mess. The front desk gave mixed messages about its availability which lead my group not to use it when it was in fact available. Later, we were lead to believe it was available, only to find out that it wasn't after waiting for 20 minutes for a pick-up. The quality of the staff varied from excellent to very poorly trained. My biggest source of frustration was the staff. I ultimately left the hotel early to stay at another.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dustin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dustin J,

Thank you for taking to time to leave your valuable feedback. While our shuttle service is normally one of our guests' favorite amenities, I am truly sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations for service. I will certainly be investigating the matter and will follow up with my staff at our next meeting. Again, you have my utmost apologies for failing to deliver the degree of service that we strive for with all of our guests.

Thank You,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We came for 3 days and stayed for 19 because my wife had an operation. The whole staff could not have been more caring and helpful during or stay. Their shuttle took us to the hospital and local stores for supplies. Very comfortable beds. Hotel is newly remodeled. Highland Club was wonderful for relaxing when I had the chance. Thank-you for making a stressful situation easier.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick U, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Craig F,

We're very glad that we could make your stay a comfortable one and leave you with one less thing to worry about. We are very happy about the recent renovations we have done and are pleased to hear that you are too! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, and we'll be happy to have you back the next time you're in town.

Thank You,

-Nick U
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS InnTowner and the Highland Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.8 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison
Address: 2424 University Ave., Madison, WI 53726-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner & The Highland Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Madison hotel has the ideal location and extra amenities for business and leisure travelers as well as for groups and meeting planners. The BEST WESTERN PLUS InnTowner hotel is in the heart of Madison's picturesque west University of Wisconsin campus area and is located two blocks from the UW Hospital and Clinics, one mile from Camp Randall Stadium, one mile from the Wisconsin Institute of Discovery and close to shopping, local restaurants and the Capitol Square and State St. Amenities include the downtown areas only hot free breakfast buffet for all registered guests; free shuttle service to the airport, campus area, hospital, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and shopping and restaurants within a two mile radius of the hotel; free high speed wireless Internet; a 24/7 Business Center; a 24/7 Grab 'n Go Market; indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness area; restaurant and lounge; cable television with 72 channel choices, and free HBO. For discriminating travelers, the hotel offers a private, key access executive level--The Highland Club--with upgraded amenities including free beverages and appetizers in the evening and two freshly baked homemade signature chocolate chip cookies at turndown service. For guests looking for meeting or banquet space, the InnTowner offers 9 meeting room configurations in 6200 sq. ft of space and on-site catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inntowner Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inntowner And The Highland Club Hotel Madison
Best Western Madison
Madison Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing